We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty late night bites, friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of James Joyce Irish Pub & Restaurant

James Joyce Irish Pub & Restaurant
616 S. President Street, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Little Italy)
(410) 727-5107
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
James Joyce Irish Pub & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 1,793 restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Fleet & President St
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty late night bites, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stopped in around 11pm for a quick bite and found the bar pretty bustling for a Wednesday night. Our server was friendly, our food was good, and they sent us home with a free desert because it was our anniversary. We would definitely go back! (even without the freeby :) )

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    72
    94
    34
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunwoody, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting local spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

In Baltimore for a week to be at Johns Hopkins. Across street from Hilton Homewood Suites. Nice location. Typical ambiance for Irish pub. Staff was good, service excellent. Good choice of all spirits. Typical "pub fare." The burger was average but other food seemed much more interesting. Should have had the fish and chips or the Shepherd's Pie. Would make a second stop if in the area and in the mood. Can see how this would be a popular local spot. An OK spot for single on business, friendly locals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pammyjs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average food good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel nearby. We were having an early dinner so wanted a light lunch. The decor is authentic. The food plain old American bar food. The service was good. This is ok for a beer and sandwich. Nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place for a small group gathering.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I was staying across the street for the weekend & had some friends joining me for my birthday. We wanted to go out for dinner before going out & since we weren't sure how many people were going to show up, we went ahead and made reservations at the pub for 10.

We had quick service, seated right away & our waitress was patient as we started ordering drinks while waiting for the rest of our party. If you stick with beer, you're good since the selection for mixed drinks is limited. Everyone order something different for dinner from sandwiches, stew, fish dishes....and it was all good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice pub -- nothing amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had dinner here while staying at the Four Seasons next door. The service was pleasant and the atmosphere nice. I thought the food was average and not particularly interesting.

Nothing wrong but nothing to write home about.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Joyce Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to James Joyce Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Joyce Irish Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.