We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maryland Science Center

Maryland Science Center
601 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21230
410-685-5225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 316 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular museum is located in Harborplace.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Went to see the mummies exhibit. While we waited for out time slot we checked out the rest of the museum with our 10 and 5 year old. The kids loved all the interactive things to do. They have a lot of subject matter experts walking around educating you on things around the center which was nice. What i didn't like was our main reason for going, the mummies. There were so many people, it took away from the enjoyment of the experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    129
    59
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mummy exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Went to see the Mummy exhibit and took in 2 shows at the Planetarium. If you don't mind kids on a weekend, fine. Otherwise go during the week when they are in school. Strollers should be forbidden in the exhibits because they are cumbersome and people always trip on them.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun interactive exhibits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We visited over our daughters' holiday break this December, and were pleasantly surprised to find it not super crowded. Lots of fun things to look at and do there - our kids particularly enjoyed the Science Arcade. Also a HUGE hit with our family was the Wet Lab. Scientists of 3rd grade and up can conduct real-life experiments, and see if their predictions are true! Staff members give the kids lab coats and goggles, and guide you to a table, where you follow the instructions to conduct experiments with polymers, DNA, acids/bases, etc. My husband is a scientist and said that he uses some of their equipment in his lab at work - the kids loved that! Definitely spend some time there - you can do just one experiment, or all. A highlight of the visit!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I thought this would be a fun day at a museum but I was wrong. There were screaming kids everywhere and the parent would not control them. There isn't that much to do if your older and as a science freak myself, I expected more, A LOT MORE.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Happy New Year's Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We decided to spend the first day of the year on a family outing to the Maryland Science Center at the Inner Harbor in Baltimore. Five of us - four adults and one toddler - took a surprisingly easy trip into downtown Baltimore, found very convenient (and cheap when you have your parking ticket stamped at the Science Center - remember to bring the parking ticket) nearby parking at the Arrow lot at the corner of Light and Lee Streets. We walked a few hundred yards from the parking lot to the Science Center and were pleased to find no huge lines at the ticket counter. Bought our tickets and entered the exhibit areas. We were looking for some fun for our two year old granddaughter and boy did we find it here.

This place was crawling with kids and everyone appeared to be having a terrific time. There's something for everyone here, fun for all ages. Science activities (sound, physics, motion, electronics), space exhibits, a kids room with multiple activities and everything is hands on and interactive. There's also a cafe for your lunch break and it was just fine. Good soup, sandwiches, burgers, a few specials and enough to please most appetites. I imagine when it's nice out, a short walk around the harbor would significantly increase your dining options.

All in all, this place deserves an excellent rating. Easy to get to, fun for all and located in a very central, convenient (and fun) location. Give it a try - I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maryland Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryland Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.