We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost overwhelming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Walters Art Museum

The Walters Art Museum
600 N Charles St, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Mount Vernon)
410-547-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 316 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Carlisle,Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Almost overwhelming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

As Ronwood said, I thought this would be a perfect small museum to comfortably peruse. While there was an extensive amount of art for such a small venue it was well chosen. The accompanying information was also fabulous. The most impressive feature was how child friendly the institution is. It almost made me want to go out and adopt a child to participate in the richness of the programming.
FREE

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    115
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Because the museum was small, I went expecting it to be a really brief visit. But, this collection was amazing! There was a little bit of everything painting, sculptures, architectural artifacts, and all of it was great.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“An Eclectic Range of Art Work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited the Walters on a January Friday morning. It was my first visit here but my wife had visited when she was younger. Admission is free!
We explored three floors of the museum and saw an eclectic range of art work and historical and some scientific artifacts. Overall, this is an excellent museum that is easy to navigate and enjoyable as well as educational. We enjoyed the Asian art displays, mummies, and several exhibits of different types of battle armor. The building's architecture is also worth noting. The 4th floor has portraits of William and Henry Walters and brief biographies.
We had lunch in the museum's dining area, Cafe Q. We had a freshly brewed latte and a cappuccino. Both went well with our food after our visit through the galleries.
Parking is available across the street in a commercial lot but it can fill up quickly. We found a convenient metered spot just across the street and up a half block. It had a four hour limit... four quarters per hour. If you spend longer, come out and add additional coins.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRidder, Louisiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This really was a fantastic museum. I really enjoyed they special exhibits they had as well as the Medieval period exhibits. A lot of art and trendy students come here from the local college for inspiration. Excellent!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homedale, Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Gem in Mount Vernon area of Baltimore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This museum is free but the special exhibits have a seperate charge. It is worth the money! I spent two days here on a recent visit to Baltimore because generally I read all the signs associated with the items on display. This museum is excellent because Mr Walters had the museum built to house his collections of Armor, courosities, treasures, and art. There is also an excellent museum store and coffee shop. Be sure to take a break and sit down for a drink and a cake.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walters Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Walters Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walters Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.