We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My son loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Discovery Children's Museum

Port Discovery Children's Museum
35 Market Place, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)
+1 410-727-8120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 316 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Port Discovery Children’s Museum is ranked among the top 5 children’s museums in the United States! (Child Magazine)Port Discovery offers three floors of interactive, educational exhibits and ever-changing programs for children ages birth through 10. Toddle and crawl through Tot Trails. Get healthy and fit in Kick It Up!. Splish splash in Wonders of Water. Shop and pump gas at the Royal Farms Convenience Store and Fill’er Up Station. Cook and serve food in Tiny’s Diner or climb and slide through KidWorks, a 3-story urban treehouse.Port Discovery Children's Museum is pleased to partner with the Let’s Move! Museums and Gardens Initiative launched by First Lady Michelle Obama and the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to fight childhood obesity. The national initiative helps children learn about healthy food choices and promotes physical activity through interactive exhibits and programs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My son loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our 2 year loved it. There were a ton of things for him to do. He made a clay pot, played in the grocery store, played in the water feature, play soccer, etc. My 8 month old was able to play as well which was great. There were not many people there and only one school group which we were able to avoid. However I can imagine that it would be miserable if there were many more people there

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are thrilled to know that you and your children enjoyed your visit and hope that you will continue to create memories with us for years to come! While there are times of the week that are more crowded than others, one pre visit tip I can offer is contacting our Director of Guest Services Magan Ruthke before you come to the museum. She can let you know how many groups we have booked for the day. This way, you can plan your visit at a quieter, less congested time (similar to your recent visit). Her email address is mruthke@portdiscovery.org. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    57
    22
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, Alabama
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day...All day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My five year old didn't want to leave. She enjoyed the water exhibit, the faux market and diner, and the indoor playground the most. Plan to be there all day so the kids can get the most out of it especially if you are from out of town like we were. Great museum! They give military discounts too. Would return!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the museum! We strive to connect purposeful play and learning for each visitor. Please come back and join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“It's Even Good for Teens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Make no mistake, this museum is meant for kids between ages 5-12 to spend hours and hours in. Still, Port Discovery has a few things that will even be good for teenagers. The Eygptian exhibit was done very well with a lot of fun experiences. There was also a house of mysteries that was fun to go through. In addition, there were an assortment of games on the second floor that entertained us for a while. Even for an older audience, this place is worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! Even though the museum was designed for children ages birth through 10, the exhibits certainly appeal to the child in all everyone. Adventure Expeditions and Miss Perceptions Mystery House are two of our most popular exhibits with older children. We hope that you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An excellent children's museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Took 2 9 year old girls to this museum. The location is excellent in relationship to the inner harbor. The Egyptian part of this museum is so excellent. The girls really enjoyed it. You can have entry all day long once you pay so you can leave and have lunch and come back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed exploring the museum including Adventure Expeditions! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington,VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This museum is like Chuckie Cheese in that it's designed for kids to be kids. We were there for over 4 hours and I still had to drag my 6 year old grandson out! Many activities for the kids and I felt everything was well designed and pretty safe. Although there were a good number of kids that day, we did not witness any crying due to injury or any disagreements among the kids.
Be sure to REMOVE shoes in the water activities room to avoid soaked shoes. Also take a change of clothes - there aren't enough raincoats for all of the kids and they still get wet.
The food selection is limited to snacks so either take food or eat before or after the visit.
Def a great place to take the kids. My grandson is ready to return at any time!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. For nearby restaurant options, please visit the FAQ section of our website. You will find family friendly options there. Wonders of Water definitely will get your little ones wet! Our drying wall will help speed up drying time. Thank you for all of your compliments! Our staff takes pride in providing a safe and fun environment for families.
We hope that you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Discovery Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Port Discovery Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Discovery Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.