We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Aquarium, Baltimore

National Aquarium, Baltimore
501 E Pratt St, Inner Harbor, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)
+1 410-576-3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 316 things to do in Baltimore
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We all had a great time. We attended the happy feet movie, with the 4D experience. And towards the end we watched the dolphin show was well worth attending, we got splashed by them in part of the show, that was fun.
Too much to see in one day. Our four year old loved to see the sharks and also the dolphin show. Great all round family fun with allot to see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    865
    400
    134
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge And right on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and nice workers. Can spend hours in there. It is right on the water with a nice view. Lots to do in the area as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
2 reviews
“Love sea habitat! No better place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

If you love fish watching, you can spend all day looking at different varieties. And don't miss dolphin show. 4d show on sea animal is available for a price .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent almost $150 to see what I think we should have been paid to endure. We went on a Sunday during the government shutdown, and the place was insanely crowded. The passageways in the main building are very narrow, and with the low lighting it was a claustrophobic nightmare. We had a small child with us, and it was impossible for them to get close enough to see any of the tanks, with the exception of the shark and dolphin attractions. It was supposed to be fun and educational, but we afraid our grandson would be trampled by the cell-phone-bearing, photo-bombing hoards. There is a break from the crowds to see the dolphin "training" show, but it only lasts about 12 minutes.You are routed by escalators to one tacky gift shop after another, "4D" theatres (which cost even more) and overpriced food courts. You buy a ticket to enter the aquarium at a specific time, and they put WAY too many people in at a time. I hate to think they are taking advantage of the shutdown of so many federal attractions and monuments that they are packing people in to the point one feels unsafe and very, VERY uncomfortable. It was a pickpocket's dream situation. It was absolutely stifling in the main building, and that is even before you get to the high humidity-controlled Australian and Amazon Rain Forest exhibits, which are jokes with their green, slime-filled tanks, a few mangy birds and dying flora. I guess I have been to many other aquariums that were much better and modern--this one is tired and outdated. Avoid this tourist trap!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate H, Public Relations Manager at National Aquarium, Baltimore, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us, particularly as a regular aquarium visitor! We want to be a place you can visit and enjoy with your family, especially during a time when some other great attractions are closed, and it's clear we did not offer that to you.

As you mentioned, we do provide a timed entry system that helps control the amount of guests in the building, but we do realize it sometimes gets crowded. We are constantly working on this system to provide an amazing experience for all of our guests and I've sent your feedback to our team for further review.

Our Dolphin Discovery training sessions are part of a new format where we provide our guests constant access to our dolphins. While we know some may miss the traditional "show" format we used to have, we feel this provides everyone a better opportunity to enjoy our dolphin family and our knowledgeable trainers. We run sessions regularly every day so guests can not only sit and enjoy the animals doing what they do, but also partake in one (or multiple) interactive presentations - seeing what our trainers do to work with these amazing animals.

Again, I am truly sorry you had a bad experience with us and I want to apologize on behalf of the Aquarium. I hope, if you come up to visit us again, we can provide a better visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must-see when in Baltimore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This has long been a favorite venue of mine. The exhibits don't change often, but they do make changes often enough. Most recently the Black Tip Reef was added, which is astonishingly lifelike. The rainforest is always great, and the newer Australia exhibit is wonderful. The price is pretty hefty, so keep an eye out for deals or "Friday After 5:00" specials. Well worth it though, much more so than the science center.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium, Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium, Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Aquarium, Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.