We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best in the country but still very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Aquarium, Baltimore

National Aquarium, Baltimore
501 E Pratt St, Inner Harbor, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)
+1 410-576-3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 133 Attractions in Baltimore
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not the best in the country but still very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Aquarium is quite old...i remember going there on field trips 25 years ago. They have renovated it, built onto it and recently they changed the dolphin show to a research center (the dolphins are not there for entertainment but rather for education) and its so much better than the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago. However if you have seen the Atlanta Aquarium, don't bother going here. If you have never been to an aquarium, then it is amazing.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,224
    774
    364
    129
    77
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I have always loved this aquarium.. Can't wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

until the remodeling is completed. I great spot to visit while in the area. The flow is great and user friendly. I love that the displays have good visibility for the little ones. My nephews ask to go tot he aquarium everytime they visit. And we go! :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic displays and amazing fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Aquarium is superb. The walkthrough flow is great, I really felt like I got to see everything easily. They have a really broad variety of fish with helpful informational displays. They have several huge tanks and areas where you can just watch all these beautiful creatures swim and interact. The price is too high for us to be able to go very often, and when they do have $1 admission days, the place is way too crowded to be able to enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice but improvements going on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went to the National Aquarium for a special event. It was extremely crowded. Several of the events were closed ( such as the Dolphin show, the tropical rain forest and the Australia exhibition was only opened until 7:30pm). My little one would loved to have seen the Dolphin show. We were able to see the dolphins through the glass. The dolphins were excited as the children looked into the window.

There are improvements going on throughout the aquarium, It is supposed to make the aquarium better.
There are many varieties of sea creatures for your eyes to behold Children love to move from tank to tank often pushing adults out of the way for a CLOSER view.

The most expensive part is the souvenir shop. Purchased a stuffed animal that was priced 2 for 30.00. Purchased only one and had to pay 17.99 instead od 15.00. A little steep for children. Some of the stuffed animals should be more reasonable priced in case you have more than one child. As everyone likes a little souvenir to remind them of their day at the Aquarium.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A tiny taste of Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is like finding a gemstone in Cooberpedy. There's a permanent Australian exhibition that reminded us of home. Also thought the building design was cleverly done and clear signage led you through the spaces, and down and around the big fish and shark displays. Pretty impressive overall and Australia Day special celebrations were great fun! Children loved the archer fish display!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen D, Public Relations Representative at National Aquarium, Baltimore, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
This makes our day over here at the Aquarium! We are thrilled that the Australia exhibit reminded you of home and that you enjoyed your visit to see us. Thank you for this wonderful review and we hope you'll come visit our sharks, dolphins, and other animals again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium, Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium, Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Aquarium, Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.