We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very different exhibits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Aquarium, Baltimore

National Aquarium, Baltimore
501 E Pratt St, Inner Harbor, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)
+1 410-576-3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 316 things to do in Baltimore
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
South Salem, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very different exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This aquarium was a joy to visit. It had many unique exhibits, such as the rainforest and Australia, as well as exhibits you love, puffins and dolphins. What was really nice about this aquarium was that the staff members wandered around the exhibits so you could ask them questions or watch a demonstration they were putting on. The dolphin show was educational and really good for younger children. The only problem was that the calenders through the aquarium never showed the times of the dolphin shows. Instead you had to ask employees.

One piece of advice is not to buy food here. It is extremely over priced and not that good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    865
    400
    134
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you have been to Sea World you will be disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Overall I was disappointed by the Aquarium although I live near Orlando and have been to Sea World so maybe my expectations were a little high. The best things about the aquarium are the sharks and the jellies. The dolphin show was pretty lame and I really like dolphins so it was a major disappointment. I'm sure the kids love the aquarium and it is much better than the Museum of Science around the other side of the Inner Harbor. The best thing I can say is that it was only $1 dollar for admission and I would be a little upset if I had paid full price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happytravler6”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Do not go on dollar day, uless you want 2 hour plus line wait and too crowded to see exhibit. Pay the $10.00 and go after 5:00 if you want to enjoy the aquarium.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This By Itself Is Worth The Trip to Baltimore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After our first trip, we were hooked! We became members and haven't looked back. No matter how many times you've been here, there's still something new to see. The members only and general public events are always great! If you haven't experienced 4D, then you need to check this out. I won't give anything away, but all of your senses will definitely be put to use.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen D, Public Relations Representative at National Aquarium, Baltimore, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for this great review and thanks for being members! We appreciate your support and are thrilled to hear positive feedback on our member-only events and the 4D shows! We hope that you'll keep coming back...and back...and back... and allowing us to continue to inspire conservation for you and your family and friends. Thanks again for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for being members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fun times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Such a great place to go. I have lived my entire life in Baltimore and I have been to the Aquarium off and on since I was little. It is such a great place to visit. So fun! Take your family, go on a date, just GO!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium, Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium, Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Aquarium, Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.