We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pit-stop for I-95 Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Fish House

Nick's Fish House
2600 Insulator Dr, Ste 1, Baltimore, MD 21230-5030
410-347-4123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 1,673 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great pit-stop for I-95 Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stopped here on the way down to SC from NJ. We had, Oysters, Crab Cakes, Crabs, Fish and Chips and Fried Calamari. Everything was very good. The Calamari, which I'm not usually a fan of is has a light batter, which makes all the difference.
The service was good and the atmosphere, (We sat outside) was nice.
I would recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    63
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

First time my husband and I have been here. Went for a surprise Birthday party and what a pleasant surprise we had seeing this place. Nice, fun outdoor seating, with a couple of bars. Inside nice too. We just had a buffet for the party so not sure how the typical menu was but the buffet was pretty good.
Bartenders very nice. Will definitely go again so we can sit outside and order from the menu.
The area around this place needs to be built up.....could be like a little Canton!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband chose Nick's to celebrate his birthday at my son's recommendation. We had hoped to sit outside because the weather was perfect. But a lot of other people had the same idea and at 6:00 p.m. there was an hour wait. So we chose instead to be seated inside immediately. We had great service - our server constantly checked back for refills or to see if we needed anything. We ordered the crab and shrimp dip, which was hot, but just okay. I found very little crabmeat and no shrimp at all. My son loves the crab grilled cheese sandwich so I tried it since I have never seen it on any other menu. In my opinion it needed more crabmeat. But it's nice to try something new since we're from Baltimore and are used to eating seafood. I can't say I will get it again. My husband, however, got filet mignon and added a crab cake. He said the filet was delicious and I tried the crab cake, which was moist and full of lump crab. I would like to return and get the crab cakes. Afterwards we sat at the bar and had a few drinks. It's a busy place but a fun atmosphere. I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I ate here during a week day for lunch when there was a steady crowd but no wait to be seated. It took about 10 minutes after we were seated to recieve our drink orders and even longer for the waitress to come back to ask for our lunch order. I ended up having a cup of the bisque (which came out lukewarm) and a 1/2 lb of crablegs. When the "crablegs" came out it was a single LEG!!!!! On top of that they wanted to charge us $19 for one LEG. We asked the waitress if this was a mistake and sent to the wrong table and she told us it was not. We asked her to please take it back as we were not paying $19 for one leg. She never appologized or asked if there was anything that she could do to make our experience better.My boyfriend got the seafood platter broiled, which was pretty small for the $30 price tag. The crabcake was small and mostly filling, the shrimp were cold, and the fish was over buttered. We also noticed several tables around us were waiting about 20 mins to receive their checks after they asked for them. One table even got up and left. The view and atmosphere of this place has so much potential to be a great spot but the service and food bring it down. Hopefully they can get their act together and the staff will tighten up. They might also consider coming down on their prices or raising the quality of food as it was sub par.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Visiting Baltimore for a day during our family vacation. I wanted family to try real Maryland crabs. Many moons ago, I went to University of Maryland so I'd had the Old Bay seasoned crabs. There is an art to eating them and we needed a lesson. Our waitress was OUTSTANDING. The restaurant was busy but she took a minute and showed us. We had 4 kids with us so they had other kinds of dinners and their's were great too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.