We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Door on Baltimore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Door on Baltimore to your Saves list
Blue Door on Baltimore
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2023 East Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21231   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Booking Discounts
Ranked #2 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Springfield, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently spent a night at the Blue Door Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. What a fantastic B & B! This quaint 3 bedroom B & B in a great part of town offers large, comfortable, extremely clean rooms in a spacious, beautiful row house. The innkeepers, Roger and Cecilia, were very friendly and helpful. The amenities were great to include a lovely breakfast and first rate coffee and teas. We will definitely be back. Wonderful inn and very affordable in a great location.
Definitely one of the best B & B's we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
118
21
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is a treat to stay with people who really know how to run a B&B right. I could tell that the proprietors tried to think of every little thing they could to make our stay special including yoga mats in every room. Roger, one of the innkeepers, is gregarious and a good cook. Cecilia does a lot of the background work.

Here is a little story about going above and beyond. Whenever my husband travels, he has to take a C-Pap machine for sleep apnea. When we got in the room, the closest wall plug was behind the bed. We decided to deal with it when we got back from dinner. When Roger noticed that we walked in with a jug of distilled water (needed to run the machine) he went up to our room and installed an extention cord. We never even mentioned the inconvenient wall socket ...he just took it upon himself to make things easier for us. Now that's service.

The hotel has three rooms. The Hampstead is on the top floor and has a fun rooftop view of the city. The Patterson was my favorite for decor. We stayed in the Washburn Room. Neither of these last two rooms have views, but the rooms are large with nice amenities. It's an old row house, so be prepared for stairs.

The Blue Door is convenient to a lot of the sites in Baltimore including the waterfront and has two-block access to public transit. It also serves as a home away from home place to stay if you are having medical appointments at Johns Hopkins.

You'll find the Blue Door reasonably priced for a major city. Be prepared for exceptional quality and service. I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Three couples looking for a place to stay for a weekend visit in Baltimore. Not very often that you find the perfect place. The rooms were very spacious and the innkeeper, Roger, had thought of every little thing you might need to ensure a good stay. It was like being at home but better. The beds were King size with luscious linens and the pillows were to die for. Two out of the three couples were going to order the pillows as soon as they returned home. There were nice toiletries, easy chairs to relax in, enough closet space to actually hang things, and a set up for music. The breakfasts were a foodie delight with beautiful presentation and great taste. Last, but not least was the innkeeper. Roger went out of his way to make our stay super special. From the first greeting at the door to our final good ye he made it his job to make sure our stay was perfect. He gave us nighttime treats and was so patient with the many questions we had about Baltimore and his life as an innkeeper. I would highly recommend that you stay at the Blue Door if you are ever in Baltimore.. Or, better yet, just go for the fun of meeting Roger and staying in a great place. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but the third floor has quite a nice view over the rooftops of Baltimore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our time there. It was surprisingly quiet for being in the city. The bed was fabulous! Breakfast was yummy. We had no problems. Would definitely go again. The room was spacious and bright and the tub was huge!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Door for one night while traveling through Baltimore and enjoyed our visit thoroughly. Not only were our hosts attentive and happy to offer suggestions, they also provided a beautiful room and a fabulous breakfast with homemade breads and wonderful made to order eggs.

We would gladly recommend this B&B for anyone looking for a nice place to stay close to the Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The innkeepers Roger and Cecelia were absolutely wonderful. Breakfast was delightful and the coffee was great. The service at this B&B was the most impressive I have ever seen. Our room - the Hampstead - was beautiful and spacious. The location is good as it is not too far away from the Fells Point but far enough away that it is quiet at night. There are so many good things to write I'm not sure where to start and end. This place is a gem and I will stay there every time I travel to Baltimore if given the option.

Leopold is wonderful. I have a very allergy to cats and didn't have any symptoms during my stay.

My only comment is that we would have preferred to have our own table during breakfast. This is just a personal preference and I understand why the choice was made to have a grand table in the dinning room - it is lovely. It was just a bit awkward to be forced to meet and greet if you are not a morning person like me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I can't recommend Blue Door on Baltimore highly enough. I have stayed in a number of B&B' s in the US & this is by far the best. The room & bathroom we had were huge & beautifully decorated with a large very comfortable bed plus chairs to relax in. Everything was thought of & Roger & Cecelia were great hosts who were very helpful & welcoming. The breakfasts are wonderful too with Roger's home-baked breads & pastries. Better than a home from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Door on Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door on Baltimore

Address: 2023 East Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Door on Baltimore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Casual Elegance by the Harbor from a neighborhood row house setting and times gone by at Blue Door on Baltimore. Located in the historic area of Butcher's Hill, and steps and a few short minutes away from all of Baltimore's business and entertainment venues.Trendy neighborhood restaurants, entertainment venues, Orioles and Ravens games, and strolls in Patterson Park and along the waterfront await you. Day-trip to explore more of Maryland or Washington D.C. by auto or train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Door on Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Door on Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.