We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed two nights here and very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townsman Inn Larned

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Townsman Inn Larned to your Saves list
Townsman Inn Larned
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   123 East 14th Street, Larned, KS 67550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Larned
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Stayed two nights here and very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a strip motel from the sixties or so. It is quite large for this genre and once was a Best Western. As such, it offers a continental breakfast, which is a bit unusual for this type of motel and which was also quite good. The room was clean and well-equipped and quiet. The manager could not have been more helpful, offering me transportation to the grocery store when seeing that I was travelling by bicycle. All in all, a very pleasant stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
5
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived very late (10:30 pm) after being turned away at three hotels in Dodge City and Kinsley because we were traveling with two small dogs. The desk clerk at the Townsman Inn welcomed us and our two dogs with open arms and a friendly smile. I asked for a disability accessible room. The room we stayed in was the largest and most comfortable accessible room we stayed in on this 12 night trip. The breakfast was pretty darn good too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concordia, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Checked in late, 11:00 PM and the night clerk was very nice and helpful. Room was a former smoking room and had a bad odor, but it was so darn late and I was too tired to complain. The bathroom was recently remodeled and the bed was great. So........the room matched the price. A "comp" breakfast was minimal. Coffee, juice, and a sweet roll.

Room Tip: Make sure you are very specific about a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This motel got good reviews. I'm wondering if I was at the same place. The location is a 1950's style layout, single story with units surrounding the parking lot. On check in, went to my non-smoking room, which reeked heavily of smoke. Went back to the office, to get another room, which they readily gave me. The second room, while not as bad as the first, still had a smoky odor. Walking back to the office, met the desk attendant going to check my original room. She showed me a third room, no smoke odor, however, STRONG Febreeze smell that really overpowered you. They graciously refunded my credit card and I went down the street to a more modern motel (Rodeway, about two miles east), where I got a much larger room for about $5 more ($51.29 versus $56.69).

As to the rooms, they are very small; the three I saw were all the same. The sleeping area is about 2 feet wider on each side than the bed, which was a double bed, so it was less than nine feet wide. It was probably no more that five feet longer than the bed, maybe four, but I'll give it the benefit of the doubt, so it would be about eleven feet long. Small bath and sink area added a little space. No table to work on, old tube TV.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Townsman Inn again this year on our trip down the Santa Fe trail. We like traveling the "Blue Highways" and Larned, Kansas is a convenient place for us to stop for the night. We have come to count on a clean, comfortable & quiet room, friendly service and a good price. There are local attractions at the Fort and the Santa Fe Trail Museum in Larned and the more expensive Dodge City, Kansas is an hour down the road when we decide to move on to other things to do. This is an old style motel and you can almost back up to your room door. 12 to 15 steps from the car trunk to the luggage rack in the room : - )

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the office for more peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

It's NOT a Best Western anymore but not to worry. We enjoyed our stay here exploring the SantaFe trail. Wireless did not work in our room but they had a wired connection that did. It's not the Ritz but a very comfortable place. We found the staff VERY helpful. Fridge/w/freezer, Microwave, coffee maker. Good TV. Quiet rooms. Pull up to your room. I'd say ignor the negative comments I see here. If you want the Ritz...keep driving..and paying $$$$$.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand, IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a clean, comfortable motel at a reasonable price. It is also near the center of town and restaurants. Good breakfast as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townsman Inn Larned? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsman Inn Larned

Address: 123 East 14th Street, Larned, KS 67550
Location: United States > Kansas > Larned
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Larned
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsman Inn Larned 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Fort Larned National Historic Site, Historic Santa Fe Trail, Central State Scout Museum, Doerr Vernon Park, Larned Country Club, Pawnee Rock State Park, the Pawnee River and the Arkansas River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Townsman Inn Larned reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsman Inn Larned Hotel Larned
Best Western Larned
Larned Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townsman Inn Larned, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.