We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Laramie National Historic Site

Fort Laramie National Historic Site
965 Grey Rocks Rd, Fort Laramie, WY 82212
307-837-2221
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Cultural
Attraction details
Fruit Cove, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I really enjoyed this site. There were lots of interesting things to see. We appreciated the short film which gave the history of the site and facts about the Oregon trail. We did not allow enough time to see everything but it was well worth the drive. This is NOT an easy site to find. Thank goodness for our GPS.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    50
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greeley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Make sure you take the tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We did not plan enough time for our visit here with our grandson -- make sure you give yourself at least 90 minutes! And take the ranger-guided tour. Will H., the ranger who did ours, was incredible for his knowledge of the history of the Fort and the legends about it. We had to leave way too soon, but plan to go back, and certainly hope that Will can be our guide again.

The site is well-restored and has many artifacts of interest to children and adults alike. It is an amazing piece of history!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really fascinating historical site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited today with small children. It was hard for the youngest to be patient while we read information about each building, but the older kids found it interesting. The quality of reproduction of the houses and furnishings was really neat. We were there early in the morning, before the interpretive staff were working. I wish we would have been passing through at a later time -- I suspect the ranger-led tour would be worth doing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you are a history buff, as my husband is, this is a must see. Very interesting to even someone who isn't that much into history, such as myself. A note, it is $3 per person and the booth was closed when we were there, so you had to "self pay" and take a receipt. Make sure you have the correct change.....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Mind-boggling to me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The fort itself is not spectacular, but a visit to this site is humbling and staggering at the same time, as you consider the travels of pioneers, with many passing through this point as three major trails diverge from here – Oregon, California, and Mormon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Laramie National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Laramie National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Laramie National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.