We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast, Ft. Davis, TX” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
401 North Front Street, Fort Davis, TX 79734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Vaction Rentals!
Ranked #1 of 8 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Boerne, Texas, United States
1 review
“Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast, Ft. Davis, TX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to get a last minute room at this B&B, and we really enjoyed it. The grounds are immaculate, it is a great location, and the food was excellent.

David and Susan Facile

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
90
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rose, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was our first time to visit a Bed and Breakfast. I was a little skeptical about sharing a bathroom. We were late getting there but Carla met us at the door with a nice welcome. She walked us through with a well thought out description of keys, bathroom, drinks, ice, when coffee would be made and when breakfast would be served. We are a technology oriented couple. The number of plugs came as a complete surprise. I have never stayed anywhere that had enough plugs for both smart phones, two computers and a Nook Color! The queen size bed was very comfortable. There were two lamps on either side of the bed and an wonderful ceiling fan. Also, there was an alarm clock and a CD/Radio in the window. On the dresser was a notebook of local restaurants and attractions. There were three typed sheets on the dresser to answer all of our questions about the Bed and Breakfast including how to connect to their network. On the back of the door were two robes and plenty of hooks for your clothes. Breakfast was served at 8 AM on the dot both mornings. The food was above excellent! Steve and Carla were very friendly and helped everyone get aquainted. I was wondering how eating with two other strange couples would feel. It turned out to be a lot of fun. This was the most well thought out place to stay for guest comfort! My husband and I plan to stay here again. We felt very pampered!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wonderful friendly owners make you feel very welcome. The room was great. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This inn is a delight - especially in the heat of the June summer. The apricot tree that shaded our porch was full of ripe apricots during our stay, which made for great evenings of eating, reading and drinking wine. We were in Fort Davis for an astronomy "gig", and enjoyed the dark skies and the hospitality of Carla and Steve (our hosts @ the B&B). Highly recommended for a quiet, off the beaten path vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I went to Fort Davis to pick up my daughter after two weeks of summer camp at the nearby Prude Ranch. Carla let me check in early so I could be at the ranch for the first rodeo at 2 p.m. (check in usually starts at 3 p.m.). After that, all I needed was a quiet place to sleep and a good breakfast so I could get back to the camp the next day for the closing ceremonies. That is exactly what I got -- very quiet, comfortable bed, friendly hostess, excellent breakfast! Just what I needed. I hope to stay again next year for the annual end of camp trip.

Room Tip: I was in the Reading room with the private bath -- very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I was so pleased to see this review. I was afraid that, because of your short visit, you might not have had a chance to fully enjoy your time here. I hope you'll return when your schedule permits a more liesurely visit.
Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast, and enjoyed the relaxing retreat. We had two delicious breakfasts, and they worked around our food allergies. We'd stayed a few years before, and were delighted to see our suggestions implemented! Wished we had two sets of keys.

Room Tip: The Readin Room has a private entrance as well as a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It was nice to get off the grid. We finished our West Texas adventure at the Schoolhouse B and B and it was a wonderful experience. The breakfasts were yummy. We were there for 3 days and had a different one each day and all were delicious. Would recommend this place, highly. We are already planning our next trip there and we just go home yesterday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 401 North Front Street, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic adobe school has a new life of a charming B&B with 1 guest bedroom and 1 suite (bedroom + sitting room.) Hosts Steve & Carla Kennedy provide a sumptuous breakfast, western hospitality, and valuable knowledge about their part of the world. They have anticipated your every need, and are eager to host your visit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.