We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State park restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Bear

The Black Bear
Indian Lodge, Fort Davis, TX 79734
432.426.3254
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Fort Davis
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
victoria texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“State park restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very clean and friendly place, it is really a great setting with good views. The food is not perfect but both times we ate there is was well worth the moderate price. A twenty will get you a good meal for two.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    36
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We ate only at the Black Bear restaurant during our stay at Indian Lodge in Davis Mountains. Every member of our family liked what they tried. They had nice variety in the Menu with vegetarian options. They also substituted / altered the items for vegetarians.

Price was quite reasonable and the staff was friendly, hospitable, and accommodating.

Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Drive to Fort Davis!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had anything but a pleasant dining experience here. One of my children had the enchilada plate which was served with rice that wasn't fully cooked. My teen had a quesadilla which was less than tasty. When the kids wouldn't eat their meal, I tried a bite and decided I couldn't blame them. My husband and I both tried the chicken fried chicken which was tasteless and served with mashed potatoes that must have been from a box. Sadly, the rolls weren't even good. The floor beneath my chair was so sticky that my tennis shoes were getting "stuck". And, unfortunately, the waitress didn't even refill our tea until we asked. If it were a busy place, then I could understand ... but we were the only ones in the restaurant at 5:15 p.m. That should have been a sign that the food was undesirable, but the lodge there is so nice that we figured the restaurant would be good. After we left, we made the drive to Fort Davis for an ice cream treat. In my teen's words: "to clear the riot going on with her taste buds". Sure wish we would have made that short drive for dinner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OK food; hit or miss service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Living in a city of 10,000 restaurants (Houston) may taint my expectations. The food's good - not great, but what it lacks in quality is made up in convenience and prices. Our family spent the week and the restaurant saved us from having to drive into town for several meals. The servers do the best they can, but the place needed one to two more to cover all the tables. (Don't expect that to happen anytime soon given who's governor of Texas!)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Casual Food in a State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Surprisingly good, casual food in a small state park. The Black Bear is in the attractive adobe style lodge, most of which dates from the '30s' Staff very personable and helpful. Good stop for lunch after a MacDonald Observatory morning visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bear also viewed

 

Been to The Black Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.