We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Lot of Options in Ft. Davis......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Davis Mountains Inn

Save Saved
You added Davis Mountains Inn to your Saves list
Davis Mountains Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Davis Mountains Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   43417 State Hwy 17, 43417 State Hwy 17, Fort Davis, TX 79734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not a Lot of Options in Ft. Davis......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Davis Mountains Inn is new, clean and comfortable. The property is well-maintained and offers a pleasant place to relax after a day of hiking or sightseeing in the area. The Sawtooth Ridge Room on top floor has a sloping ceiling on which we bumped our heads several times (although we were forewarned) and the lighting in the room is poor--no lamps or lights of any kind close to the bed for reading.

Breakfast was nice although the egg dish served the morning we were there was under seasoned for our taste. The back porch and back yard are very pleasant areas in which to enjoy a quiet cup of coffee or glass of wine.

Although many other reviewers commented on the hospitality provided by the owners, they were nowhere in evidence during our stay (admittedly only one night) and we got the impression from staff that they actually are not there very often. In fact, there was no one there when we arrived in the late afternoon and no one showed up at all until the next morning. We were unsure as to whether or not we should lock the front door before we went to bed which was a bit disconcerting. Angela and Martha did an excellent job of making us feel welcome the next morning however.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boyd, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in the Sleeping Lion Master Suite with private bath. We enjoyed the extremely comfortable king bed and roomy bathroom with large tub and shower. The owners were not hovering around and had just a few other visitors in the house on some nights. We enjoyed a different breakfast every day. The room we were in had French doors leading directly out on the back porch and felt more private and secluded than the other rooms were. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the main house. It was very nice; I loved the decor. I think I would not like sharing the bathroom though. We lucked out since there was no one else in the house that night.

The owners live somewhere else so you do have the place to yourselves. They answered every need. I think I would stay again if I could share the bathroom with a family member.

The breakfast was INCREDIBLE. I wished I could have spent a day rocking on the back porch with a glass of wine. Loved the view!

Room Tip: downstairs king has its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay in the main house but stayed in an addition to the house. It was quite large With 2 bedrooms, bathroom, living room and small kitchen (no stove) which is fine because hate to cook and the breakfast in the inn was very good. I didn't know you could serve eggs that many ways. But the mattresses in both rooms were worn out and soft. The lighting in the living room/kitchen was poor. We could not read and had to use cell phone flashlight to run microwave and make coffee. And since this is an add-on, it didn't have central heat or air like the main house. I would stay in the inn again but only in the main house.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedBreakfast-Inn, Owner at Davis Mountains Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
For all review readers..... these reviewers must have gotten our property mixed up with another one as far as the beds go and the needs updating comment. We purchased this property in 2009 and furnished the Inn with BRAND NEW high-end furniture. The home was built by a custom builder in 1999. I can assure you the beds are NOT worn out. Regularly our guests comment on them being the best beds ever! The Fisher Hill Suite is one of our luxury suites and as you can see from the other guest reviews gets consistent high marks. Note: Reviewer on April 27 titled Great Hospitality and this one are the same party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went to West Texas for a trip to the McDonald Observatory and to explore Fort Davis. I selected Davis Mountain Inn due to its proximity to town and our activities. The B&B main house is lovely; however, we stayed in the Fischer Hill Suite which is an additional to the main house. The Fischer Hill Suite consists of two separate bedrooms, one bathroom and a living room/kitchenette area. The bathroom was adequate and had large fluffy towels. However, the beds in both bedrooms were too soft ~ both mattresses needs to be replaced with firmer ones. The entire suite lacked sufficient light but especially the living room / kitchenette area. This suite does not have central heat or air conditioning since it is an addition. On Sunday, the temperature outside was in the 80’s and it got very warm and toasty inside the suite. We learned later that window units were suppose to be installed but hadn’t been put in yet. Breakfast was very yummy and delicious. Breakfast was prepared by Angela and she did an outstanding job. Angela is very warm and inviting. Would I stay here again? Probably so...but in the main house where the rooms all appeared to be very nice and have light, heat and air. But not in the Fischer Hill Suite until it has been updated.

Room Tip: Fischer Hill Suite needs updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We took our family of 5 (3 children) to relax in the Davis Mountains for Spring Break. There really are not a lot of lodging choices, so we decided to stay at the Davis Mountain Inn. What a wonderful choice it was! We stayed in the Fisher Hill Suite. Perfect for a family. 2 comfortable bedrooms with a very roomy living room area, and a private porch. The family that runs this B&B can not do enough to make your stay comfortable. Our family all agreed that our morning breakfasts and card games were the highlight of the trip! Thank you, Nancy, Bill, Angela and Dessa for making our West Texas trip a memorable one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 days at the Inn last week and were once again amazed by the hospitality from Bill, Nancy, and Angela! We stayed in the Guide Peak Room this time and found it impeccably clean and more than comfortable. We went to Big Bend on Friday and got some great route info that helped us see the amazing Big Bend bluebonnets at their peak! They are THE Ft. Davis area experts from restaurants to the observatory. The breakfast was great as we remembered from our first visit. We left refreshed and wishing we could stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Davis Mountains Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Mountains Inn

Address: 43417 State Hwy 17, 43417 State Hwy 17, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Davis Mountains Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new facility with old world charm in a beautiful, very private six-acre setting. Views of the majestic Davis Mountains and fabulous night skies from the porches and decks. Bring your telescope. Read in the shade of numerous trees or just listen to nature. This 7 bedroom Inn has plenty of room for relaxing. Each bedroom or suite is unique with amenities ranging from a Spa Bathroom, satellite TV, high speed wireless internet, private living area, wet bar, to private exterior entrances. The common living room in the main house hosts a fireplace, cathedral ceilings and beautiful lighting from the bank of windows and doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Davis Mountains Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davis Mountains Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.