We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry folks but this place is just not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clemente's Fresh Seafood Restaurant & Market

Clemente's Fresh Seafood Restaurant & Market
1198 Commercial St, Astoria, OR 97103-4126
503-325-1067
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 83 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Organic, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Inverness, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Sorry folks but this place is just not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our second trip to Astoria in late May / Early June for the second year in a row. Again we tried Clemente's but this time is was even worse than last. Ridiculous, in fact. We had six people. 5:30 reservation. The place was NOT CROWDED by any means. The service was absurdly neglectfully slow. And the food, while certainly not being terrible, sure doesn't live up to the snooty attitude and descriptions and prices. The flavor just flat out isn't there. Fulios across the street and the Bridgewater Bistro down by the bridge are much better values for much tastier meals. I will say the tempura asparagus was pretty darn good. But I tried most about everyone elses plates and it was all pretty ho hum. The fish is fresh though and they are using good local ingredients. The atmosphere is uptight / pretentious / modern with lots of space in between tables, yet they crammed six of us into a four top table. The place was almost empty. They really don't know how to actually treat customers but they sure pretend and act like they do. They have got themselves convinced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    51
    32
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Must Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This by far is the BEST restaurant in the area. The chic modern decor is clean and inviting; comfortable yet polished.
The Pinot Gris suggested by the waiter was crisp and so refreshing, a terrific choice to go with the best of local oysters. The Halibut and chips were the freshest and most delicious ever, prepared to perfection. The side of asparagus was a great surprise, lightly fried with a terrific sauce to accompany. The homemade tarter and ketchup sauces should be jarred and sold, wish I had the ketchup to travel with. Sweet potato fries were done perfectly, which I never order but my lunch companion insisted; sure glad she did, they were crisp and near perfect. The lunch was so good, I needed to share with the chef/owner, what a friendly, delightful woman. She and her husband own and operate this fabulous restaurant, she was so pleasant and was delighted we enjoyed one of the BEST lunches ever. She sent out her famous chocolate brûlée which was rich and a perfect end to a terrific lunch. Working on cruise ships provides wonderful opportunities to dine in some of the best restaurants around the world, Clemente's joined my list of favorites. I can't wait to cruise to Astoria again, I would never miss an opportunity to dine at Clemente's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Needs attention to details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Don't waste your money and appetite on the crab cakes. I've never ever been served crab cakes with so little crab. And the server didn't seem to care at all. There was no gesture to make it right. The fish of the fish&chips was good. Quality fresh made dill tartar sauce; fresh made ketchup with a refreshing hint of clove. My ciopato was very tasty. It would have been better to have real sized shrimp in it instead of the tiny cheap "bay shrimp" smaller than your smallest fingernail. The couple of chunks of crab in it were tasty, only a bitter reminder of how good the crab cakes could have been. The sauce was well flavored and seafood mix was fine. Atmosphere-eclectic, clean, decent. Service-very polite and attractive, though decidedly not attentive. The food overall was above average; but inattention to details drags it to mediocre for the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
945 reviews 945 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
“Big cold uninviting atmosphere, big retail display windows on a corner, owners obviously did not know how to deal with.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Huge corner, but easy to miss as a restaraunt. Obviously built for retail with floor to cieling windows, portions not in proportion to window size.
Try another one of Astorias fine restaraunts

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere for a late lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Late lunch in Astoria. We both got fish and chips. The portions were a little small, the batter was not very crunchy, but the homemade cocktail and tarter sauces were good. Might come back for an evening cocktail sometime:)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clemente's Fresh Seafood Restaurant & Market also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Clemente's Fresh Seafood Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemente's Fresh Seafood Restaurant & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.