We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cannery Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Cannery Pier Hotel
10 Basin Street, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Waterfront gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everything about the hotel was perfect. Highly recommended. Every room has a view of the inlet and bridge and the amenities are impeccable. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. They also offer free in-town dinner transportation in an antique car.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    114
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
108
483
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was fabulous. From check in to check out everything was perfect. Staff was very friendly, professional and attentive, rooms were fantastic. All rooms have a view of the Columbia River. Our room had a great soaking tub and seperate shower and was quite large. Hotel is close to city center as well as the bridge to WA and many scenic attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Ok, I've read many a Trip-Advisor review & have added my two cents worth occasionally. I usually try to stay positive but I make no apologies for this slam on the CPH. Was really looking forward to our stay here while traveling down the OR coast from Seattle back home to CA. Called early to inquire about a same day stay & was told they had a room & by travel estimations discussed with on-site reservation clerk, it was agreed we would arrive around 5pm. When we arrived a little after 5 front desk was busy & we waited our turn. While waiting observed a man from Firestone Brewery negotiate a better rate. When we asked about AAA or govt rate, we were told they don't adjust any rates, period. Really... I saw the blond haired woman just print out another check in sheet right before my eyes. Should have left right then but we had been on the road & just wanted to get settled. But that seemed to be a big problem too because even though check-in is 4pm & our arrival was after 5pm, they said to several couples & families the rooms weren't ready yet. The excuse was they had a full hotel last night & we'd all (except for Mr. Firestone) would have to wait unless we wanted a room on the first floor, which we unfortunately agreed to. We had room 105 after rejecting said display room closest to the lobby. If check-in was going to be an issue, I wish that would have been mentioned when we called, that would at least be common courtesy. I must say, never, ever, have I been to ANY hotel that didn't have rooms ready upon THEIR established check-in time. Upon getting into the room, while yes, the view is wonderful, cleanliness was sub-par & the room was just plain over used. Scratches, scuff marks all over the base board. Splashes of ? some of the walls & a throw rug under the coffee table with really ugly stains. Why, why, why would you not replace a throw rug? Took pics of this & will post, if possible. Obviously, concern about their guests is sorely lacking. I sooooo regret not getting into the car & checking out any other accommodations. Upon check-out with Kathleen, my husband gave her every opportunity to inquire as to our stay. Not once did she ask if we enjoyed our room or anything. It's a shame that they rest on they're view & could care less if the guest is happy.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cannery Pier Hotel June 26 - 28 during our PNW vacation. We found this hotel to be delightful and fun. Following is our balanced review of our stay:

- Check-in: We arrived before check-in time and had to wait about 10 minutes for our room. Not a big deal at all. We were originally offered a ground floor room (immediately available) but decided to wait for a higher level room so that we could get a nice view of the river. We were given a 4th floor room which had an amazing view of the bridge and the river (all rooms have a good view...it was nice being higher up - personal preference).
- Room: The room is very spacious! The bathroom is palatial. It has a wrap around counter, a claw tub, separate shower stall, and separate room for the toilet. There is a window on the wall by the tub to the bedroom so that you can soak in the tub and enjoy the view of the river. There are shutters on the window if you want privacy. The king sized bed is very comfortable and there is a couch, coffee table, fireplace, table with chairs for two, a patio, and a window seat. There is free wifi in each room as well. There is also a coffee maker, refrigerator, and another sink in the bedroom. I have two negatives about the room: the carpeting is stained and worn in several places and there is no air conditioning in the rooms so it got a bit warm at times. There is a fan to bring in cool air from the river built into the window seat. The room was very clean but could use an update with the carpeting.
- Location: The hotel is in a fabulous location! You have free parking at the hotel, which is also on the pier. The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk into town along the waterfront trail. This train is directly in front of the hotel and a lovely and safe walk during the day and night. There is also a trolly car that runs this route until 7 pm at night for those that don't want to walk. The hotel also offers free bikes and antique car service into town. We didn't take advantage of either of these but many people did.
- Breakfast: The hotel offers complimentary breakfast until 10 am. The food was lovely - local pasteries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, juices, and coffees. There is also a wine happy hour that we never made it back in time to enjoy.

This hotel is a gem. We got to enjoy an amazing sunset, wake up to dense fog on the river, and watch the many ships come in and leave the port (the hotel provides a schedule of ships!). You can hear them coming and going at night...but it didn't bother me at all. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this place as a good base to explore the northern OR coast (Seaside, Cannon Beach, Tillamook).

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The rooms are spacious, quiet, well out-fitted, and all brilliantly situated for optimal viewing of ships, bridge, and the ever changing waters. The Holiday Inn is cheaper, because it is cheaper. If you just want a roof with a view do it. You get to view the Cannery hotel, and are packed in with far too many visitors.

The Cannery, however has a very kind, attentive, if loopy, somewhat forgetful staff. Don't expect one's policy to be another's. They make up for it though.

Pay attention to maximize your experience. There is constant free tea, coffee etc. Lovely complimentary breakfast with local pastries, waffle maker, Greek yogurt, etc. From 5pm, the endless free smoked salmon fingers and cheeses are worth their weight in gold. Know that in reality the free wine costs below $10/bottle, but is local, respectably drinkable, and also bottomless if you ask. We skipped dinner after so much food, great views, and sociable lounge. At night, free cookies appear at the front desk. Book your free classic car chauffeur early, but do it at least once. Free bikes are there if the weather holds. The free gym is decent, the mineral jet pool and sauna room are both lovely.

Nearby, Bridgewater Bistro is worth paying a bit more for if you are in the mood for real food, perfectly cooked fish, great views, and staff.

Stay at the Cannery at least once. It is a step above.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for the 4th floor. If you have pets or kids the lower rooms are great. All...
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem to do a very good job, austerity-style measures. Could use a recycling program.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Cannery Pier Hotel pleased my husband and I during our two-night stay. We wanted a quick getaway from Portland but were not interested in anything stressful. To maximize your stay, enjoy watching the sunset in your room each night.

Personal highlights:
*The house ground tap coffee was strong enough for my espresso addicted husband to not demand a mid-day coffee fix.
*Late at night they have cookies at the front desk!!!
*They have The Goonies on DVD at the front desk.
*For breakfast, the pastries come from one of the local bakeries in town.
*I enjoyed having a suite because there are beautiful views from the bedroom, bathroom, and living room. One can even use the sauna tub with the windows opened without being seen.
*If you need wine glasses, they are available at the front desk!

Green Features: The local food options make staying at this hotel the perfect way to taste the area.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night at the beginning of an Oregon Coast road trip and enjoyed our stay very much. Great views along the river -- lots of birds and interesting shipping traffic. Quiet, too. We enjoyed the 5p happy hour with wine and cheese and also made use of the hotel's cruiser bikes the next morning -- took a long ride along the paved river path. I highly recommend it! The breakfast was the usual fare: coffee, danishes, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. Our room was very clean and comfortable -- excellent view of the river and bridge. The hotel provides a set of binoculars in the rooms, too! We had tickets to a concert that was part of the Astoria Music Festival -- another series of events not to miss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin Street, Astoria, OR 97103
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannery Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.