We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cannery Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Cannery Pier Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Basin Street, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent one night here and loved it. We stayed in a corner suite with its own sitting room and a fantastic view of the Columbia River: birds, seals, sea lions and huge ships came and went. The Inn provided a nice continental breakfast in the morning. We will be returning soon and often as it is a quick two hour escape from our home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    116
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
111
502
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our family stayed at the Cannery Pier recently and our visit surpassed any previous stays in a hotel or inn. Our room overlooked the Columbia River - in fact, it looked as though our room was IN the Columbia River from our deck. Binoculars in the room enhanced our views of passing cargo ships. The rooms are well appointed, with everything you would ever need - fridge, microwave, fireplace, desk, and a seating area to read or view ships. The bathrooms are spacious and we loved the claw-footed tub from which you could view the river! Every evening there is a wonderful wine and cheese reception and every morning there's a great breakfast for guests. We also enjoyed travel to our dinner in the 1952 Caddy with a guided tour of the area by our driver. Each restaurant recommended by the front desk was top notch. I sure do wish I lived closer to this area so I could enjoy this wonderful place more frequently.

Room Tip: I think any room would be awesom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We find ourselves coming back to his hotel and the wonderful town of Astoria over and over again. The hotel is lovely offering very comfortable rooms, free shuttle to and from town, afternoon wine and cheese and a basic breakfast. Astoria is a great town with good restaurants to choose from and enough places to visit to keep you busy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Overall, a wonderful hotel experience. It almost feels like you're on a cruise ship as the hotel is located on a pier right on the Columbia River. All rooms are situated on the water; which is an amazing design. The rooms are also very well-designed. They have fireplaces, a sitting area to watch the ships go by, balconies (albeit small), and an awesome claw-foot tub with sutters that open up to the room enabling you to soak in the tub while enjoying the view. This is our third visit and the hotel seems as clean and new as it was four years ago.

Continental breakfast and evening appetizers are basic, but well-presented. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and are anxious to recommend local restaurants and offer limo service.

If I could have one complaint (that really surprised us), their bedding is very sub-standard. The sheets are paper thin and blankets are also thin. I would expect high thread count sheets and better beds, as well as bedding in a hotel of this caliber.

However, still the BEST in Astoria...by far.

Room Tip: All rooms face north. There are three stories and all rooms are exactly the same. There are one be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've been in the hotel business myself for almost 35 years and have stayed in innumerable hotel rooms over the years. The Cannery Pier Hotel is without a doubt one of the best inns I've ever stayed in. First and foremost, the staff was fantastic and friendly from the breakfast server to the wine hour host / limo driver (Spence you're great) to the front desk team to management. The room was large and well decorated. How often do you get to look out your window, while sitting in front of your fireplace, and look at a massive river right outside your window? The lobby was quite large with huge windows looking out to the river. Breakfast was great. Complimentary wine hour was great. All in all, a very memorable experience. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We liked our first floor room being right on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a find in Astoria. Don’t just drive thru, stay a night or two in Astoria, there are many excellent places to eat, and this hotel is a gem with a capitol G. Our second visit and it did not disappoint. The limo service for dinner is a great amenity, as is the hosted wine reception every evening in the scenic view lobby area.......there is a great hot tub and sauna, the rooms have a BIG claw foot tub, big enough for two, and the rooms all have a deck on the water side and a fireplace.....we love it there....
http://www.cannerypierhotel.com/

Room Tip: any of them, we love the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel sits at the end of a pier out into almost the channel of the Columbia River. When freighter and other boat traffic goes by, it is right outside of your window....I mean RIGHT OUTSIDE like you can almost touch it. That is why we went here for my birthday and we only live 10 miles south of it.

The rooms are nicely appointed and clean. We choose a room that faces the Columbia River Bar so we can watch the ships coming in. Comfy beds, fireplaces, little dining table, micro, nice refrigerator, big clawfoot bathtub with a view...all good. Best again, they have doggie rooms and our little frenchie comes along. They presented her with a bed for her size, two bowls, 20 various treats, poopy bags and a toy which she loved and got to keep.

There is no restaurant on premesis but they have a big old 1950s Cadillac and they will take you to town and pick you up as part of their included services. There is wine and cheese at 5 pm, cookies at 8 pm and breakfast in morning. All good.

The only negative was that I could not get the wifi in the room and since the dog could not go to the lobby area, I could not go out there to try to connect. We were going to go to marinetraffic.com to track the ships while we were in our room. So, we had to use our phones and the 4G service on those but the screen is small for tracking. When I explained this to the manager as a drawback, he gave us a $40 room credit and didn't charge the doggie fee!! Without me even asking. Great customer service. I was so surprised.

If you get a chance and love to watch river traffic, this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin Street, Astoria, OR 97103
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannery Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.