We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Salmon Grille

Silver Salmon Grille
1105 Commercial St, Astoria, OR 97103-4125
503-338-6640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 66 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Seaside, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Friendly, neighborhood tavern, fine meal & drinks, convenient location near my hotel in the downtown area.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    100
    36
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive and Kind of Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel staff were so enthusiastic about recommending this place that we were a little suspicious -- like they had some connection to it. We were right to be skeptical. After being told to expect "the best sea food on the west coast!" we hoped to get a nice meal in a congenial atmosphere. The place was almost empty. The waiter was pretty off-hand and not especially friendly. The food was only just okay -- seafood linguini had little flavor at all and the salmon in wine sauce was indifferent. With entrees running at $30 each it was a bit much to pay for meh food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Clam chowder, worst food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We wanted Seafood and saw this place and read the reviews thinking it would be good. First of all, not a family friendly place although staff was nice. Best clam chowder. When we got our meals they were Luke warm and gross! Tasted like someone trying to cook fancy but doesn't know what good food is! Don't go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A delightful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We dropped in here on a rainy afternoon for lunch and found ourselves treated to an excellent meal in pleasant surroundings. Everything was fresh and well prepared. I highly recommend this place in Astoria's historic commercial district.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Surprise 80th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

A friend of my Great Uncle's booked a party room for 28 people this past Dec. 14th. I have never seen an affair go so well. Our head waiter was wonderful! He took every order with not a 1 mistake. Everyone was served in a perfect amount of time. He was good humored and on top of it all. Now as for the FOOD; no other word could describe it except for EXCELLENT! From the crab canapes' to the New Orleans Steak (yummy) to the variety of salmon dishes, my mouth is watering now. If you are ever in Astoria or passing through this is a must stop restaurant, there is sure to be something for everyone on the menu. I'd go back w/o any hesitation. ***DELICIOUS***

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Salmon Grille also viewed

 

Been to Silver Salmon Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Salmon Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.