We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Salmon Grille

Silver Salmon Grille
1105 Commercial St, Astoria, OR 97103-4125
503-338-6640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Beaverton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

You go to a restaurant for the food, after all, and the food here is a cut above average. The presentation was very good, but the quality of the meal didn't measure up to it. The halibut, for example, was a little softer than it should be, not flaky. The desserts were very good.

Prices were moderate for Astoria, but it was a decent value for what we had and where we had it.

Service was first-rate.

This isn't really a place that says "come back." The facility is worn, suggesting that the owners are economizing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    94
    34
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, WA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stumbled on this place as a lot of other places in downtown Astoria were closed on Sunday night. Smells musty, service was okay but the food was good. I had a pasta dish which had a lot of garlic. Overall it was good but it was expensive for what you get. Locals recommended it for lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoodsport, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just Average Place (More like 2.5)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had decided to Christmas shop in Astoria as something fun to do. At the end of the day we were both hungry and decided to have a very late lunch or early dinner at 4pm. Saw the restaurant Silver Salmon Grille and decided to try it. Had not read any reviews prior to going in. We arrived and sat in the lounge and bartender/server came over to take our drink orders and provide menu’s . After dropping off the drinks, we asked the server to what she would recommend for dinner. Her answer was order the filet mignon with crab cakes. We decided to take her recommendation. My wife had gone to the restroom and came back stating it was not clean. A sign of things to come.
Received the salads in short time which were OK, nothing to make a big deal about and then the waiting began. It was over 45 minutes until the main courses came and no one visited the table to ask about ordering additional drinks or where the food was. In fact the place was not busy at all and a few customers came and went while we waited. When the dinners arrived the presentation was not bad but the food was just OK. Not sure my wife got “filet mignon” since it was very tough and the crab cakes were not that good. A little to much bread filler for our taste.
There was a comment card in the bill that we filled out with comments on the service and food. I hope it found the owners Jeff and Laurie. I just hate writing up family owned restaurants with negative reviews but it was challenging to find positive items.
Just read the reviews and saw a wide range of comments. We could not recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Astoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You go to this place in downtown Astoria for the food, especially the salmon. Full bar and great staff. Only go there when I am hungry for full flavor and beautifully presented meals.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Seafood Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

There were four of us who decided we would all have fish and chips for lunch at this establishment. Prior to that however we made use of their bar which has a very good wine list and several good single malt scotch whiskey available. The fish and chips were okay but have had better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Salmon Grille also viewed

 

Been to Silver Salmon Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Salmon Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.