We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the new Pizzeria!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baked Alaska

Baked Alaska
1 12th St, Ste 1, Astoria, OR 97103-4146
503-325-7414
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 66 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Baked Alaska Restaurant, Lounge and Pizzeria is a dining destination while visiting Astoria, OR. Our Main Dining Room features sweeping views of the Columbia River, our Lounge offers 10 taps with specialty craft beers, plus an extensive wine list featuring Oregon and Washington wines. We also hand crafted cocktails using Oregon distilled spirits. If you are looking for a fun family atmosphere, look no further than the Baked Pizzeria featuring Artisan style pizza right from our 800 degree brick oven. We also have a private waterfront dining room which can seat up to 30 guests, or have your special event catered off site with our custom catering services. Baked Alaska, the only thing we overlook is the Columbia River!
Astoria, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Try the new Pizzeria!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Saw that the Baked Alaska has a new pizzeria and went just last Saturday. We liked the menu choices so we ordered a sausage and cheese pizza and "the chicken" which is kinda a sandwich made with pizza dough. Both were great. The dough was good, the chicken also had pear and garlic in it so tasty.

Fast service and a good meal, give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    111
    67
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent service. A bit spending, but the food is worth it. River view, very fresh and well prepared food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was a Saturday night in April 2013, after a long trip to Astoria and having reservations at another restaurant ignored. Our hotel called Baked Alaska for a last minute reservation and they accepted.

We showed up to wonderful, friendly service and an immediate seating.

I believe our waitresses name was Tara. Really nice. Very helpful.

The food was terrific. Very imaginative and delicious dishes.

Our drinks and bread were kept full and emptly plates removed promptly.

The location on a pier has outstanding views.

They also have a pizza place attached. We didn't eat there, but I did drop in and talk to the chef and waitstaff. Sounds wonderful.

Can't recommend Baked Alaska any higher!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA Area
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Everything was creative, fresh, and delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Three for lunch and we cannot say enough about the taste treats:
Soup of the day was carrot/ginger and thick with both carrot and ginger aftertastes.
Grilled Caesar, the romaine was grilled and the cheese shredded on top with croutons. This was one of the best dressings we have ever eaten. The extra bread at the table helped sop up the extra dressing.
Field Greens were fresh and the dressing choices were almost elegant (if possible for a dressing)
Asiago Fondue came with apples, pears, and a real sour dough bread loaf cut up.
The fennel Salmon was a delicious and delicate delight with absolutely no fish smell or tastes other than fresh. The greens accompanying the salmon was equally fresh and grilled warm.
The final was the main course of Crab Macaroni! WOW! Lots of fresh crab blended perfectly with macaroni and cheese with a crusty top. Great eating experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna,BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“wow! The deck on a sunny day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

we stopped here after deciding against pub food, and boy are we glad we did. we managed to score a table on the deck a couple of hours before sunset. nice and mellow atmosphere, our server was attentive and friendly and knew the menu very well, evan the buser was very friendly. The food was perfect seaside food, my wife had the scallops and myself the pan fried halibut, both cooked perfectly and presented beautifully. Good choice of beer for myself and wife loved the N.Z. Sauv. Wish we'd had room for dessert as they also looked incredible! You can't beat eating dinner and watching sealions play in front of you.
Go here, you won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baked Alaska also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Baked Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baked Alaska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.