We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst motel in Astoria!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rivershore Motel

Save Saved
You added Rivershore Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rivershore Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   59 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Vancouver, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst motel in Astoria!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

First time staying at this motel, and it will be the last time too! No alarm clocks at all in our room to even tell us what time it is, or to wake us up when it was time to check out. Worst of all, the sheets in the bed were changed, but were bloodstained! Have nothing good to say about this motel at all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    9
    12
    11
See reviews for
13
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our first night in the states. The town of Astoria is a bit creepy but the motel was good.

Good prices, a tiny breakfast included, bathroom and beds were good, fridge in the room.
The room was small.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The walls are paperthin, I was kept awake all night...and the manager had no sense of people skills at all. The worst hotel ever. :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This place will tempt you because of their prices, don't give in to temptation!
We stayed here during the annual Columbia River crossing 10K run/walk event.
Right off the bat my female partners were disgusted at the brownish, stained toilet seats.

But for me the biggest drawback was the owner's complete lack of cooperation or caring for individual circumstances. They absolutely, positively wouldn't let us check out 30 minutes later on Sunday. 30 minutes! When asked why, they said it was because they had to get the room ready for the next visitor. I understand this but it was a Sunday and they weren't even close to full. We confirmed this by checking on our room a couple hours after check out and sure enough, our room hadn't been touched!!!
So after running our 10k we had to go find a state park to shower and change into fresh cloths. All this after we'd spent the entire weekend at their motel and the wouldn't let us check out 30 minutes late. In the meantime our room sat unused.
We visit Astoria 3-4 times a year and this is the last time we will spend our money here. There are other choices that I'd rather support.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at any other hotel in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Came out to the coast for a quick getaway. Stayed at the Rivershore and enjoyed it. Nothing to fancy. Rooms were priced right. Bedding was a little old, but your typical hotel room. Wonderful town and located right in the middle.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algona, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The room was dirty left over m-n-m's from previous guests. The bathroom was nasty urine stained toilet seat..come on take $20 and replace it. The employee knew of upcoming construction and didn't share the information or even hand out earplugs.
They were cutting the concrete and pulling metal grates along the road till 4 am then the next shift started. No sleep at all!! I had elderly people with heart problems. Employees are rude and omittion is still lying.
Don't stay here!!

Room Tip: nasty urine stained toilet seats loose and unsanitary!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinnon, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My boyfriend and I took a 3 day trip to Astoria for the first time. We weren't going to spend much time in the room, we just needed a place to sleep and shower so we didn't want to spend more than $100 on a room per night. We paid $160 for 2 nights here. It was decent enough, queen sized bed, small fridge, microwave, coffee pot. The bathroom was very clean but the room, although a non-smoking room, smelled faintly of smoke. It's right on the main drag, so there is a lot of traffic noise. The wireless worked just fine and the maid did a great job cleaning. The bed was comfortable but I should've packed my own pillow. Also, the walls are thin, so ear plugs might not be a bad idea if you get a snoring neighbor like we did.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivershore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivershore Motel

Address: 59 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97130
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rivershore Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rivershore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivershore Hotel Astoria
Rivershore Motel Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivershore Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.