We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel ho hum location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel ho hum location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in the jacuzzi room. Room was great! A remarkable view on the fourth floor of the Bridge from Washington to Oregon. There was a gas fireplace altho we didn't use it because the weather was so wonderful that day. The jacuzzi was next to the bed in the room and was wonderful after coming back from walking.... the only negative thing....the hotel is located quite a ways from downtown and when I booked I was under the impression that we could use the trolley that runs along the river walk. It wasn't running. The breakfast was very nice with full breakfast items. But the hot cookies at the resevation desk in the evening was the cherry on top. We would absolutley come back but next time make sure the trolley was up and running.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    134
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
138
175
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
portland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Yes, it is true, the Holiday Inn Express chain is a low end hotel, so my expectations should not have been so high in the first place.
All I can say is that if you care about a comfortable bed and good customer service...DO NOT STAY HERE. I was told that the sheets were not polyester as I am sensitive to that...and THEY ARE. The Pillows are incredibly uncomfortable and my neck hurt for days. I had to call down at 3:00 am to get a blanket to use as a pillow.
When I complained, the manager, CAROLYN,was so utterly rude and disrespectful, my customer service rating gets a big fat zero.
I will not be staying here again, and I truly advise the same to you.
The fact that they're a multi-million dollar hotel chain is just another reason to not give them your hard earned money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear beautifulgrl,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My children, parents and I stayed here for one night in February so that we could visit the Columbia River museum. It was a great place! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were so friendly and helpful! We walked into Downtown Astoria for dinner and enjoyed a great buffet breakfast in the hotel the next day. I would recommend staying here if you need to visit this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've stayed here before and were very impressed. I found that my company has a discount so I decided to upgrate to a suite for a few dollars more.

Our room was on the first floor and was a good size. I was surprised to find that the King bed was near the door, the queen bed had the good view and the fireplace... Then we went to sleep, I mean we tried to go to sleep. The room is next to an exterior door AND the staircase. Late into the night people were stomping up and down the stars and slamming the door. We thought about complaining, but what could the hotel do about people walking around in public spaces?

Next time, I would either request a room on the top floor or not upgrade to the suite. The first time we stayed here we had a basic 2 queen bed room and it was fabulous.

Room Tip: If you book a suite, get one on the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Once we learned that I had incorrectly purchased the wrong type of room and that they were sold out but they were most helpful in advising to come down in the morning and they would see what they could do for us. We decided once we got settle in to just stay in our room which was very nice and the jacuzzi was used even though it wasn't what we wanted. We enjoyed the breakfasts each morning and they helped us get dinner reservations to a very nice restaurant within walking distance. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely go back. Loved the fireplace to read by and made use of the refrigerator as medication was needed to be kept cold.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't just go by the pictures when choosing a room, read the room details. That is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menomonee falls
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at how absolutely clean our hotel room was. We had a two queen room just the basic and it was very big! The floors would pass a white glove test that I actually let my daughter crawl around on it! The service was great the only thing I would like them to change is if you have the hanging sing on your door requesting not to be disrupted due to sleeping they need to honor that. Housekeeping will call you to let you know they are leaving and ask if you need anything and to just ask the front desk. I understand that's what their told to do but the hanging sign is up for a reason! My daughter and I both were sick and they called not only waking us up but nearly making us jump out of our skin! 4 out of 5 days this happened every time my daughter was sleeping sometimes myself as well. On top of phone calls they leave a note saying to ask front desk for anything which is what they said in the phone call. It's not necessary and quite annoying! Our last day before check out, they called, knocked on the door, and left a note. It's like an obsession to get your room cleaned. I don't wash my sheets every day at home so I don't see the point at hotels to do so. Aside from that and the terrible breakfast (not just very unhealthy by tasted terrible) our stay was great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Clifty, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have spent two weeks here on business trips. First trip in a full suite, next in a King room. Both had gas fireplaces and both were spectacular. Fantastic view from the riverside rooms. Open the windows and let the breeze off the water carry in the sound of the seals and the gulls. Spacious breakfast room that also looks out over the estuary. I wish I could just live there. It's even interesting to watch the vehicles going over the bridge that seems to be 10 stories above you and the container ships cruising by.

Room Tip: Ask for the riverside rooms. No matter if it's a suite or just a room, they are very spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Address: 204 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Family Hotel in Astoria
#4 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.