We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in a king bed jacuzzi room, river view. Fireplace, nice size to the room. What is great about this room is the jacuzzi is not located in the bathroom but in the room itself, next to the bed, near the window and in frontof the fireplace. Talk about ambiance! The front desk staff is exceptional. The breakfast is above the normal fare. I do not rate many places with a 5/excellent, but this one deserves it.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    134
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
138
173
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We come from Tacoma to Astoria, for the weekend, two or three times a year, since 2005 to get away from the city & all its stressful problems. At first we stayed at other motels in Astoria, but now we always stay here at this Holiday Inn & Suites. The staff are very friendly and know the area well. The rooms are always excellent & trouble free. The view from the window, facing the river, is outstanding & hard to leave. You can spend a lot of enjoyable, stressless time, just looking at everything from the window. The motel posts the names of all the passing ships in its lobby. The lobby is one of the best lobbies I have seen. The heated pool is one of my favorite pools with a great view. You will enjoy your stay in Astoria when you stay at this motel. Steve and Melva Golding

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the suites are extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

In Summer 2012 my wife, 3 daughters and I drove from Seattle to LA. Astoria was our first over night stop. I booked this hotel the day before we arrived and didn't expect much. I was very pleasantly surprised. Great location on the Columbia River. Close walk to lovely Restuarant. Nice walk along the Riverside.

Room was big, nice view, well laid out and in excellent condition.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Based on our experience here we tried to stay in Holiday Inn Express where ever possible for the next two weeks.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molokai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Superb location, clean rooms and friendly service. This hotel is right at the base of the bridge that connects Oregon and Washington with great views of the Columbia River. I was very happy with my stay and if I come back to Astoria will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Left Coast
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is an amazing hotel for the Holiday Inn Express brand. It's right on the river near the bridge across the Columbia. Riverside rooms look out on the river as enormous ships pass by. On that side of the hotel is a footpath that goes into downtown Astoria as well as the riverfront trolley that goes to the Oregon Maritime Center.

The rooms are huge and well appointed. Most have in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Some have jacuzzis. Very clean. My only gripe is that they block the windows from opening more than a couple of inches and the rooms can get stuffy.

Decent enough free breakfast room in the morning. Pig 'n' Pancake is across the street as well.

For a comfortable, affordable stay in Astoria, this is easily my first choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a jacuzzi. Ask if they can get the windows to open. Stay on the river side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First stop from Seattle. Had just crossed Columbia River and stopped at this hotel. A good clean hotel with helpful staff. Interesting old photos from "lumber jacker" times. Free WiFi. Morning breakfast was good. Stunning view over the river. My first time in Oregon. It's a beautiful place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is always very clean and the staff is friendly. We really enjoy the view of the Columbia River. Anytime we have stayed here the rooms have been very comfortable and quiet. The morning breakfast was OK this time. The eggs were over cooked and very brown around the edges. Om not real fond of the pancake maker, wish that they had a waffle maker instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Address: 204 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
#3 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.