We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Columbia River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Astoria
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“By Columbia River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First stop from Seattle. Had just crossed Columbia River and stopped at this hotel. A good clean hotel with helpful staff. Interesting old photos from "lumber jacker" times. Free WiFi. Morning breakfast was good. Stunning view over the river. My first time in Oregon. It's a beautiful place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    124
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
129
156
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Battle Ground, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is always very clean and the staff is friendly. We really enjoy the view of the Columbia River. Anytime we have stayed here the rooms have been very comfortable and quiet. The morning breakfast was OK this time. The eggs were over cooked and very brown around the edges. Om not real fond of the pancake maker, wish that they had a waffle maker instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at some that are a bit too cheap or run down. This one is clean, well furnished & maintained, and has exceptionally helpful staff. Located on the water just under the bridge, it has beautiful views. Breakfast has lots of good food & later in the day there are warm cookies on the lobby. Pool is nice, but a bit cold.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, AK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a King room on the river side. The view is stunning. I also like the separation of the sleeping areas. There is a convertible couch in the “living room” and a king bed in the bedroom. The bathroom and kitchenette area separate the sleeping areas. Great for parents with kids. The gas fireplace in the living room is cute but not really necessary in my opinion. All the basics were spot on. Extremely clean room, good hot shower and comfortable beds. The staff at the front desk was great. She made me feel welcome and she was really helpful.

The only negative I can add is the breakfast was mediocre at best. This property is a step above most Holliday Inn expresses I have ever stayed at and the breakfast deserves to be better. Over all a great stay just don’t expect breakfast to impress.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

You must get a river view room under the wonderful bridge with interesting river traffic. Bit of a walk into town. Quite a good breakfast. some helpful staff -others just a bit indifferent. there is also a comfort inn and a new hampton inn is opening in Astoria

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith River, California, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everything in this hotel is pretty much average. The beds were comfortable and the place was clean. The complimentary breakfast downstairs was average. I missed having TV availability. There was no TV guide, so I had to guess and of course could not find a thing. No movies were available except for $9.99 you could choose from the movie rentals they had DOWNSTAIRS.
I did not need unlimited movies for that high price, just one would have been nice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I were mostly very comfortable in this clean and spacious room (the exception being, as it nearly always is, the rock hard bed, but I know some folks like that). Ask for a river view room and you'll be treated to the stunning perspective of the Astoria Bridge looming above and endlessly fascinating boat traffic and wildlife to lure you away from the TV. Just outside is a riverfront walking path that parallels the city's trolley (which driving rain regrettably prevented us from sampling). And just a few hundred feet to the west on that path is the much more expensive Cannery Pier Hotel. We were happy to spend less while still venturing down there during their afternoon wine and cheese tasting (where the hotel staff warmly welcomed us). We were also only minutes North from Fort Clatsop and the much more expensive but fun to visit towns of Seaside and Cannon Beach. Saved a lot of money and had a lovely time exploring it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Address: 204 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Family Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.