We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great hotel, exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Mendocino CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow! Great hotel, exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for only one night :(
Astoria Holiday Inn Express and the city of Astoria deserved a longer stay.
This was by far the best hotel of our trip, with a large comfortable waterfront suite, windows that open with a view of the bay.

We noticed that the hotel had bicycles available. There's a long ( 3+ mile) paved walk along the water - great for walking running or bicycling.

The staff was very helpful, friendly and we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    134
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
138
176
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

First time back to Astoria after being away from here for over 20 yrs.picked the express because we have never had a complaint with this chain. Asked for a riverview room with fireplace and was plesently surprised to see it had a spa tub in the room also. The room was immaculate and the views from the 4th floor were impressive. Nice to sit back and watch the ship traffic going to sea. The breakfast fare was the usual hot breakfast and an attendant was present the entire tme we were there to make sure the guests were taken care of. The only think that could add to this hotels value would be a managers reception in the evening like other express's provide. The staff was very polite and helpful with our requests. I definitely would stay here again on our next visit to the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We try to use Holiday Inn Express when we travel. You find the rooms be comfortable -- the beds and the bed linens are PERFECT! You can expect the same type of breakfast at each location. Something for everyone.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at HIE during the Commercial Fishermen's Festival and vowed I'd never stay anywhere else when I'm in town. Comfortable bed, clean room, excellent breakfast, and fantastic service! I slept with the window open to hear the water and didn't want to wake up in the morning. It was like home.

Room Tip: Pick one that overlooks the water and you'll sleep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel had it all. Clean large rooms, close to downtown. It was right on the water with the trolley going by. The breakfast, pool, and dog areas were top notch. The best part of the stay was the customer service. They recommended great places to eat. Had coupons for things we wanted to do. Babysat our dog during breakfast, and even found some water wings for my so to use in the pool. We have stayed at a lot of hotels around the world, and this was a wonderful experience. Thanks to all the excellent staff!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. I have to say, our impression was positively colored by the fact that due to an error on the hotel's part, they upgraded us from a standard room to a suite (room 202). That suite was lovely, consisting of two bedrooms separated by a kitchenette and bathroom. The "master" bedroom had a fireplace and windows that overlooked the river and the bridge; the view was spectacular. Everything was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were quiet. Breakfast was adequate, but not remarkable. The staff were all exceedingly pleasant. If we were ever in Astoria again (unlikely but not impossible), we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is brand new: in appearance anyway.. it's clean, smells clean, and as most HIE's, is dependable. You can always know you'll get a comfortable, clean room at a HIE. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: the hotel is at the base of the WA/OR bridge, but even though it's right under a major thoroughf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Address: 204 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Family Hotel in Astoria
#4 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.