We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright spot in Astoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 39th Street, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Getaway Package
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salem, United States
1 review
“Bright spot in Astoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Super clean and friendly staff. I love their wonderful beds and great breakfasts. This hotel is at a great location on the Columbia River. right next to The Rogue, which is a fun restaurant. I'll definitely stay here again next summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Tammy B,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast buffet and loved our beds too! Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us! We can’t wait to have you back again during the summer time!
Sincerely,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    89
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
113
182
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent hotel! It is conveniently located on the Columbia River and within walking distance of several historic sites, restaurants and pubs. Best Hampton Inn I've stayed in to be sure. I even enjoyed the continuous barking of the sea lions outside my balcony on one of the piers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear David R,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write your review. We love to hear about each and every experience. Please do come back again!
Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed two nights on my trip up the coast. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. I had a waterside room with balcony which was very nice, but be aware that the sea lions that reside waterside bark all day and all night, so be prepared for an opera when the balcony door is opened.

Room Tip: Waterside is noisy, but the view more than makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear alchmistchef,
We appreciate you for taking the time to write your review. It makes us happy to know that your room was very clean and comfortable. Thank you very much for choosing to with us!

Kind Regards,

Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Every year we come to Astoria fishing in August and we have stayed at other hotels that are not nearly as nice. The staff we kind and accommodating. The rooms were clean, decorated nicely, and very pleasant. We decided that we would stay here from now on for our annual fishing trip. The hotel has a pol that is indoors and looks over the Columbia river. The river view rooms are nice, but be aware that if you are a light sleeper, the sea lions on the dock below are quite noisy 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: River View Rooms Are Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear docallergy,
I am so happy that you found us and decided to stay. We are more than grateful to you for your compliments and for taking the time to write your review. We all look forward to your return in August. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us!
Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, WA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed one Saturday night, beautiful January weather. New hotel and everything looked great. Our room was on 3rd floor with river facing balcony. Apparently our king room was upgraded because it had a microwave and refrigerator as well as a couch (sleeper). We spent some time in the afternoon and in the morning so enjoyed having the couch. Only thing that would have been good to have in room would have been lights above couch. Heat control by thermostat. Nice view out windows and from balcony. The famous sea lion barking could not be heard when balcony door closed (although our room was on far end from where the seal were). Good breakfast, only complaint was the scrambled eggs a definite miss (which is usually the case at morning buffet style). We did not check out the pool until morning and only felt the water. It was warm. Next time we will bring our swim suits.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear rkh29,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us! We all sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write a very kind review. I am so happy that you had a great experience. I will definitely pass the message along to my management team about the lack of light above the sofa, the thermostat, and the eggs. We strive for perfection and appreciate any and all constructive criticism. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We tried to book the Cannery, but it was full during our time in Astoria. So, we went with the next highest rated hotel on TripAdvisor, The Hampton Inn.

On the plus side, the hotel seemed very new and clean. Our room was great. The bed was about a 7/10. It wasn't as comfortable as our bed in a Portland hotel the night before, but it was ok. The room was very large and comfortable. The hotel staff made obvious efforts to be friendly, even calling our room about 15 minutes after we checked in to ensure it met our satisfaction.

The hotel is located right along the Columbia River, and abutted a very nice walking/jogging/biking riverfront trail. This offered a nice 4+ mile exercise route, plus great scenery!

On the down side, the hotel was a bit far from downtown Astoria...just enough to discourage walking into town for dinner, etc. Also, it seemed a bit cavernous and sterile in the common area. This may have been because it was very empty during our stay...I only saw about 6-7 other cars in the parking lot. Ambiance was lacking, but hey, its a Hampton Inn.

The complimentary breakfast was a typical mix of pastries/cereal with juices, coffee etc. It also had bacon and some strange egg-like pellets which passed for scramble eggs. Definitely man-made, though! A employee roamed the breakfast area offering mints.

If I came through Astoria again and Cannery was booked, I'd have no qualms about staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room facing the river. Not only do you get a view, but you're on the opposite si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Bill B,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Astoria Oregon! Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a one night stay where i booked with Expedia.

I reserved a river view room - when I got my key card and got up to my room, I found that I had only a view of the car park.

I went back down and the hotel clerk did not make any apologies but did change our room to the correct side of the hotel. We could not see any sea lions from the balcony, could just hear them.

The rooms were ok, the in-room heating was very noisy and old unit.

The hotel is a reasonable distance from the main area of town, so would only book here if you have a car.

The rogue public house is nearby, do not eat there - it was terrible.

Room Tip: Dont bother paying extra for the river view unless you are there for multiple nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Address: 201 39th Street, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of the Columbia River, the Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria offers guest great location to Astoria’s dining and attractions. Each stay includes free hot breakfast, free WiFi access, gym/fitness center and the Clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Riverview rooms with balconies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.