We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Astoria to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Astoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Astoria, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful new hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We live in Astoria but stayed here for our anniversary just for fun. We had a king suite with balcony & it was a beautiful, spacious room! Great view of the river and all the ship traffic, very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    73
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
95
143
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The location was great near the Columbia River, the view was fantastic with the body of water with ships, fishing boats and foothills to the west. You could hear the sea lions if you chose or simply close your window. The facility was clean and staff helpful. The beds as always comfortable. The second night we had to switch beds as the air blowing was with too warm or too cool. The heat needed to be on so this was inconvenient.

Room Tip: Get the river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a great view of the Columbia River from our room. We were able to watch a couple of sea lions feeding on something in the water along with four bald eagles and numerous seagulls. We did not hear the sea lions during the night but then I am not sure there are that many around in the winter. The room was very clean and inviting. The breakfast was good. We most likely will stay here again,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This Hampton has only been open for two months, and it is obviously a fresh hotel. The staff are cordial and will take the time to chat with you about the area. When we checked in, the woman at the front desk thoughtfully assigned us to a room on the floor above where a young teen's birthday party guests were staying. The riverview king room was comfortable and spacious, with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper, and gave an entertaining view of the boats and ships on the river.

The breakfast included small omelets, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, a waffle maker, cereals, milk and juices, oat meal and toppings, pastries, bagles, muffins, bread and toaster, mixed fruit, apples, and coffee. Maybe more. The breakfast room has a view of the river.

The trolley stops just outside the hotel, and for a dollar you can jump on and ride all the way to the other side of town. For 2 dollars, you can ride all day. We didn't see it run on Sunday.

There is a colony of about 20 sea lions about 300 yards from the hotel. It's a short walk to where they are hauled out onto a dock, and they are fun to watch. There is another colony on the other side of the pier that you can't see from the hotel. There are also about 20 sea lions there. They can create a barking serenade that is loud, and you will hear them in most river front hotels here. But when you close the double-pane sliding door, the sound almost disappears. If you can still hear a distant sound, put the heater/AC fan on the constant setting and you will hear nothing from them (or download a background sound app to your smart phone). Not a problem.

My wife and I live about 2 hours from Astoria, and since we didn't get to see everything we wanted to there, we will be going back. After seeing the other hotels in Astoria, we think this is the best place for us.

Room Tip: If you don't have a river view, you will have a parking lot and road view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Located on the Columbia River in the heart of things to do and places to see in Astoria, OR. The rooms are large, well furnished and nicely decorated. There is an excellent free breakfast. Do get a room with a view!

Room Tip: Get a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great very clean & comfortable hotel. Angie at the front desk during check in, was very pleasant & full of info, she even called up to our room to make sure the room was ok with us. We stayed in one of their jacuzzi rooms, & that even had a view of the river. The breakfast that was offered, was one of the best I have seen. Everything was fresh & tasty. We would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On the Sea Lions -- yep, you can hear them all night long from the river facing rooms -- but how else do you expect to be able to see the river? (OK, confession, the Sea Lions don't bother us at all; we miss their barking since we are now living in the desert.) But, to the hotel: Yes, it's a Hampton Inn, yes it is clean, warm, and seems safe -- what we expect in Hamptons. The staff was a little not-quite-with-it-yet (but, we stayed on the third night it was open) in that they didn't have answers about town and some non-hotel issues; for check-in procedures and hotel issues they had all the answers, immediately, with the trademark smile and pleasant demeanor. Price-wise it seemed high compared to web-posted prices for other hotels (and significantly higher than most Hamptons I've stayed at) -- but I made a point of looking at those hotels when we walked downtown and thought to myself this Hampton was worth the price.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that don't face the river (and might not have the Sea Lions). Stay on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Astoria

Address: 201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;