We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elliott to your Saves list
Hotel Elliott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   357 12th Street, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wonderful beds is the motto of the hotel, and it is accurate. Our 4th floor room had a view of the river and the historic downtown. I liked the heated bathroom floor a lot. The closet is lined with cedar and has an automatic light. The rooftop is lovely. The Sunday farmers' and artists' market starts at 10:30 right outside the front door. It's a great location. Walking distance to a lot of nice places to eat and drink. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    87
    20
    15
    12
See reviews for
27
164
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Elliott for 1 night on our 11 day west coast trip (Portland/Cannon Beach/Seattle). The ride up from Cannon Beach was a breeze with minimal traffic and pretty views along the way. We did not plan ahead to stay in Astoria so our last minute rate of $179/night seemed fair for a Queen room. Only issue is that the bed looked and felt more like a double – regardless, it was a place to stay and relax before moving on the next day.

Our room was cozy and clean with a very large bathroom and nice shower. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. Per the other reviews, breakfast was tasty and plentiful with various options. The hotel has a nice rooftop patio for guests, however, the chairs were so uncomfortable it was impossible to lounge around longer than 20 minutes without your bum falling asleep on the metal grates. I would the hotel invest in some nice pads for the chaise lounges and chairs.

Visiting Astoria is like taking a step back in time. Astoria is a city of 10,000 people on the Columbia River, just a few miles from the Pacific Ocean and it’s the oldest American settlement west of the Rockies. The city lines the south banks of the Columbia River, and the north banks of Young's bay. The area is rich in scenic beauty, with a vista of the Pacific Ocean and its endless miles of sandy beaches viewed from a top of Astoria's historic Column.

The town center is rich with little shops, cafes and restaurants – they even have an actual old fashioned J.C. Penney’s on Main Street! Some cruise ships do come into port here for the day so there is some tourist activity during the day. We checked out Wet Dog Café & Brewpub for a few local beers and gorgeous views of the river and the shipping lanes - had a wonderful lunch at the Silver Salmon Grille and spent a couple hours exploring around the town. We ended up at small cafe/bar and sat at the bar for dinner. Just keep in mind this is a small town that starts to roll up the sidewalks around 9pm. We ordered our food at 8:45 and were told that the kitchen was just about to close (!). One day is definitely enough to see the sights in Astoria.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We did a road trip from Victoria to Portland and decided to stop in Astoria. We stayed at the Hotel Elliot which turned out to be a great decision. Very comfortable room. The hotel has some old charm and it has been recently updated. The rooftop deck is a great place to view the Columbia River.
An employee gave us a tour of the presidential suite. It's amazing, book it if you can afford it.
Hotel is located near lots of good restaurants and coffee shops.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very pleasant stay at the hotel. Great location in downtown Astoria. Comfortable bed with nice appointments to the room. Terrific shower. Good breakfast (which was included), and a nice little work out room. Only disappointment was the wine bar, as it was not open during out stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We enjoyed our two nights here and actually extended our stay for one night. It's clear there's been some recent remodeling, particularly in the bathrooms, and they are lovely, with heated floors. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the free breakfast one morning--I was expecting a half-hearted presentation of yogurt and pastry, but there were great little cheese omelets, fruit, excellent yogurt, oatmeal. Wi-fi was a little weak where we were, at the back of the hotel overlooking Duane St. The service is the shining star here; the front desk staff is unfailingly helpful, though I wish they had warned me ahead of time that the room we were switching into for our last night was incredibly small for two people.

Room Tip: Rooms go from -01 to -09 and there are five floors. If you want a room that overlooks the river and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had a Double bed Suite, as we were traveling with 2 chirdren.
Hotel was an old fashioned European style, which i liked compared to some of the same bland chains.
Room was spacious and looked newly renovated. bathroom had heated floor, but only a shower, that suited us, but maybe not others.
Breakfast was basic, but did job.
Rooftop garden was a nice touch, to sit up and enjoy the views, but be warned if you want to take a drink up, the cocktail bar shut before 10.
Was in centre of Astoria with a couple of Restaurants near by, and car parking next to Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with Hotel Elliott! Our stay was only one night but the hotel staff was very warm and welcoming, which was refreshing after a long trip from NYC. The girl at the front desk was very helpful in directing us to the "must sees" in town for our short stay as well as some great restaurants. She clearly explained the parking restrictions and pointed us towards open lots, as Sunday's street market was beginning super early the next morning. The room was small but clean and comfortable. I was happy that the bathroom had a heated tile floor and was stocked with Aveda products. We loved old charm of the facade, the lobby, elevator and hallways. Breakfast was fresh with ample options; eggs, waffles, cinnamon buns, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. The view from the roof deck was quite nice, we took some really pretty photos up there.
Astoria is a such a nice, quaint town with lots of history. Hotel Elliotts was the perfect place to stay, close to all and in the center of the Sunday Market action. What a great way to kick off our trip down the Oregon Coast!

I would highly recommend Hotel Elliott!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Address: 357 12th Street, Astoria, OR 97103
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Astoria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A carefully renovated historic hotel located in downtown Astoria. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated stone bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. Member Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elliott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.