We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in the Heart of Historic Downtown Astoria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Elliott to your Saves list
Hotel Elliott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   357 12th Street, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location in the Heart of Historic Downtown Astoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautifully restored hotel, comfortable lobby with fireplace, adjoining wine bar, and breakfast area.
Breakfast included some hot entrees, good pastries, Greek yogurt, and selection of hot and cold cereals, so better than most "continental breakfast" fare. No need to drive once you are settled in as food, brew pub, shopping, galleries, movie theater, and museums within a few blocks of hotel.
Nice room with view of downtown and the bridge across the Columbia R.

Room Tip: Views are nicer on the north to northwest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    86
    18
    15
    12
See reviews for
25
162
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a very very brief stay at the hotel - Sunday evening to Monday morning and enjoyed it very much. We chose the hotel over the alternative of staying in a local motel for a much cheaper price - and I'm happy we did! Hotel Elliott is very centrally located which is an advantage if you're on a tight schedule. The room was clean, large, and together with the old-fashioned decor and the floor heating managed to be extremely comfortable and quaint.

We were travelling with a toddler and an infant and found the arrangement suitable and convenient.

A bit on the pricey side but we don't regret a penny of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice establishment. The staff knows everything about everything in the area and enjoys helping. Free convenient parking a big plus. You can walk to almost everything in town. We really liked the heated floor in the bath.

It was cooler than we expected in mid-July, but the firepit on the roof at the end of the day made sitting up there and taking in the scenary of the town a fond memory

Room Tip: I'd suggest a room away from the stairs as many people do not wait for the elevator if they do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sometimes first impressions can be colored by our own experience and as we pulled up to Hotel Elliott the first thing we noticed was the appearance of the exterior was hampered by floors of open windows. Also, we remarked on the absence of on-site parking and were concerned - rightly or wrongly - about vechile security. When we entered the foyer of the hotel we also noted a narrow staircase to upper levels as well as the entry carpet seemed a bit soiled from people traffic. - perhaps from a busy Sunday market held adjacent or next to the hotel. Anyways, we opted to leave the hotel without checking-in. Of course, the hotel was well within its rights to charge us as we had exceeded the required cancellation notice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
How unfortunate that we didn’t have a chance to show you what our hotel has to offer. We would have enjoyed your feedback about our newly remodeled Wine Bar and enhanced breakfast offering, as well as our guestrooms that fellow Trip Advisor reviewers have recently rated so high.
As you will see from those reviews, cleanliness has been a focus and we have very positive feedback. We apologize that the entry and stairway appeared soiled. We do our best to keep up with our common areas and we missed the mark concerning your first impression.
Thank you for your input. It is important to us.
We would love to have a chance to show all we have to offer on your next visit to Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel Elliot is a gem in the fun town of Astoria. Smack dab in downtown, walking distance from great eateries, the river walk, and historic neighborhoods. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a queen room at the end of the hall. QUIET! Room was well furnished, clean, great art on the walls, comfy bed and linens and with a cedar closet. The bathroom was large with a heated floor and jacuzzi tub. Nice fixtures. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was included - a typical continental fare - off the lobby, a nice setting. Parking is in a parking lot half a block away, just fine.
There's a rooftop patio with a great view of the river and town, gas freestanding fireplace and glass walls to protect you from the wind. Bring you wine or beer upstairs for a great place to hang out and watch the sunset.
I like older hotels that have been refurbished and they did it right at the Elliot. I am recommending this place to all my friends - and you too!

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator and stairs and were at the end of the hall next to a 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so glad you "loved" our hotel!
Thanks also for the tip you left for viewers. We always suggest people call and make their reservation so we can accomodate their needs to the best of our ability. We have a varied inventory and if someone has a special need or desire, we want to match them with the best room possible.
We will do our best to make sure your friends enjoy their stay as much as you did.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband adult daughter, and I spent one night in the Premium Suite. With two important exceptions, it was nice lodging - an interesting mix of old and new. We were concerned about on-street parking as the car was fully loaded. However, that was no problem as we were able to park in the lot just across the side street. It was convenient, after a day of driving, to be within walking distance of restaurants (we ate across the street at T. Paul's Supper Club which was very good). The upstairs patio offered a lovely view of the river and hills. The breakfast was a cut above Hampton Inns'. The room was clean; I especially appreciated the clean, fairly new carpet. It was fall, and when we arrived, the screenless windows were open. There were flies that had to be chased down and killed. The gas fireplace was not only pretty but warmed the room as well. There was a stand-alone air conditioner in the living room which we did not need. Had it been hot, I'm not sure how well it would have cooled the bedroom. I think there was an over-head fan in the bedroom (though my husband who is particularly sensitive to electric motor whine found it irritating). The king-size bed was comfortable. The problem was the pull-out sofa. It looked a bit worn as a room furnishing and as a bed, it was terrible. The frame sagged downward and the thin mattress, inward. The other problem my husband noted: the safety of the main exit stair (in the event of fire) was severely compromised. Not only were the smoke barrier doors on two floors illegally held open but, in addition, the positive latching mechanism in some of the smoke barrier doors had been removed. He told the desk clerk of the safety issues. If you can ascertain they have been addressed, we would recommend the Elliot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a historic building that has been refurbed. The room we had was small with very little storage space and a view of a car park. The bathroon was miniscule but fine. Liked the Aveda products.We found the room to be very warm at all times and the ceiling fan very noisy.

Breakfast was included in our room rate. The hot meals were not inviting but the cold buffet was OK.

The staff were very helpful. They are trying so hard.

Loved the fact that they have a (very small) gym in the basement. I even tried it out!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Address: 357 12th Street, Astoria, OR 97103
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A carefully renovated historic hotel located in downtown Astoria. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated stone bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. Member Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elliott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.