We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE IT HERE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Crest Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Astoria Crest Motel to your Saves list
Astoria Crest Motel
5366 Leif Erickson Dr, Astoria, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Lyle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I LOVE IT HERE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is not the fanciest of places, but I'd never pass up the chance to stay here!!!!!!! It is typically very clean, the front desk folks are so helpful and kind. We always get an upper story room which faces the river -- great view!

Room Tip: Second story toward the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    45
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
29
54
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped here at the Crest motel when visiting Astoria the other day. We were looking for a pet friendly hotel that didn't break the bank. Crest was under 75$, the rooms were clean and bright, the check in clerk was friendly and helpful, and there was even a hot tub for us to soak after our long drive. The tub was open until 10, and 10 came and went, and nobody kicked us out. We also had a room with a view of the river/mountains and a back porch that opened into grass/trees/water. It was a wonderful little place that we will stay in again! Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: had no problems with number 28!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night in the beginning of August.The room was pretty clean although it didn't look like it had renovations in a while. The view was amazing! The deck is in need of some repairs though, also only seperated by chain link between balconies. The continental breakfast is very basic but it did fill us up, had muffins, bagels, juice, coffee, ect.

Room Tip: Book in the top floor for sure, the view is way better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a wonderful alternative to the cookie cutter chain motel. Not only is it a charming motel, but it is on a historically significant site.
First - our room was spacious, with all the amenities - fridge, microwave, table and chairs and desk space. The bathroom is large with a roomy vanity. The entire suite is clean and freshly painted. Obviously, someone cares.
We had a sliding door that opened out onto an area with tables, a fountain and an over look of the Columbia River - with the ships and boats in the harbor. Wonderful! The hot tub was close, but we did't take advantage of this added bonus.
There is a plaque with details of Lewis and Clark and their exploration on the river overlook - they actually camped here at this point on the river - not long, but until they could move into their winter quarters. For history fans, like us, this was really neat.
There is a laundry room which is reasonable and clean.
We were assigned a parking space right in front of our room, which was very convenient.
This is a real find - if you are in Astoria, choose this charming motel - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that faces the Columbia River on the first floor you will be able to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

On every trip to Astoria, we'd go by the Crest Motel and wonder what it would be like to stay there. Now we know, and I can't say I would recommend it. We arrived on the hottest day of the year (so far) and found that our room, for which we paid nearly $90, was like an oven. The Crest does NOT have AC. There was one very small (louvered) window in front and two small ones in the back another room), so no way for cross-ventilation. There would have been if the bathroom window was open, but with no screen, and no way to hold it open anyway, it was a lost cause. The bathroom also had very dirty curtains and black dirt around the entire window frame. There was a giant crack in the mirror and no stopper for the dirty sink drain. There was a rusty floor fan, but it did not do much good. The bed pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable, and the little refrigerator had no door on the freezer part---just a large lump of ice that must have refrozen after defrosting.
The one plus was that it was quiet, even though there was "No Vacancy." We could not believe that this was a $90 room, and were just thankful we hadn't paid over $100 to have a view that it would have been too hot to enjoy. For the same money, I'd say to look for other options---we will the next time.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, do not take a room in the one-story building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is an older property located outside of town. The staff was friendly, and the room was adequate. Many other reviewers mention the great view from this motel, but it is largely obscured by the large trees between the motel and the river. It is definitely pet friendly, which is not desirable to us. Also, the continental breakfast is very minimal. Compared to other motels in Astoria, it is priced very reasonably.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Crest is a great location for a quiet stay and a great view. We didn't pay extra for a view room, but sat in the hot tub overlooking the river for sunset. We could see all the way to the Cape. What a great way to end the day.
The rooms are somewhat dated, but ours was clean and sufficient for sleeping. Staff was pleasant and gave us suggestions and a coupon for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Crest Motel

Address: 5366 Leif Erickson Dr, Astoria, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visually stunning views of the Columbia River. Large ship traffic up and down the river make the Astoria Crest Motel the perfect spot for any traveler ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Astoria Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Crest Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.