We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, comfortable spacious room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Save Saved
You added Astoria Riverwalk Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Industry Street, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Astoria
Monroe, WA
1 review
“Great view, comfortable spacious room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Every room has a great marina view and a small balcony to sit and enjoy it from in pleasant weather (I was there on Thanksgiving and was comfortable sitting out with just a jacket for over an hour). The room was clean, comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was larger than most motel rooms. The bed was comfortable. Ceilings (and possibly walls) could use more soundproofing and I would choose a 2nd floor room next time to avoid this; but I would definitely book this inn again. The included breakfast was quite adequate with the bonus of fresh waffles. Desk personel were pleasant. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room (access by outside stairs). You will probably be able to spot Columbia River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    47
    38
    27
See reviews for
53
135
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family including our 3 small Fidos spent 2 nights here over the Thanksgiving weekend. We loved the view and the safe place along the river to walk our pets. If the trolley were operating we would have been in hog heaven but it was off season. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed exploring Astoria and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was not sure when we drove up to the hotel , but you should never judge a book by its cover.
The room was large and spacious and very clean, the best surprise was when we opened our curtains to the desk and saw the most breathtaking view of the Marina, it was stunning!
The staff at the front desk were all very pleasant and most helpful, and they were almost always smiling. The Waffle breakfast was a very fun experience, the only issue I saw was for the amount of people there was not enough seating, we just took ours to our room, not a big deal but maybe for someone else.
The museum passes were an awesome added bonus to the trip, although the Heritage Museum was not open when we went as they had switched to Winter hours, there was some confusion over the open days as it was a National Holiday- not a reflection on the hotel at all
The bed was very comfortable, and the shower had the best water pressure that I have ever seen in a hotel . We traveled around most of the day but the room was great for what we needed and we will for sure go back and recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 Queen room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The place looks like an old hotel on the outside which has seen better days. BUT they are working hard to bring the place back. The bed was PERFECT and felt the same as the beds in more expensive hotels. The place was CLEAN. The breakfast was free and available though a bit on the skimpy side. The location is in an industrial area with great walking paths and great walking paths along the river. There is a drive-thru coffee shop within the hotel block area for those who need their coffee. There is a coffee maker in the room for those who drink the regular stuff. Now, the views are fantastic especially from the balcony. Price wise, this place is definitely not your $39 per night dump special but it is not your $120 per night place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here Nov 4-5, 2012. We bought a groupon deal, 2 nights for $115. It included tickets to 3 local museums. It was supposed to include tickets for the riverfront trolley, but the trolley only operates on the weekends in winter time, and only if not raining! So we didn't get to see the trolley at all. We got there just after 4pm, and a few others were also cheking in. Check-in was quick, the front desk lady was nice enough.

Our room was on the first floor. The rooms are larger than the standard motel room. It had a nice balcony over the marina/water. Although the sliding door was difficult to open, and it kept falling off the tracks. The rooms have no AC units, so in order to get fresh air we had to keep the balcony door open. The room itself was very clean! All furniture and equipment in the room was in working order. I even checked under the bed, and behind nightstand, no dust bunnies, so A+ on cleanliness! The room had baseboard heaters, we had to keep the control low other wise it would get to hot. With out it, the room was to cool.

The bathroom seemed outdated, from the 70s, but it was very clean, and everything worked well.
We could not get wifi to connect on our laptop. Wifi in the rooms would be a big big plus!

Breakfast was limited; if you are on a low carb diet, better skip it. No fresh fruit selections at all. Just white or wheat bread for toast. Make your own waffles, and 2 types of cereal. Coffee and orange juice and one other type juice I believe.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, using the groupon deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had very mixed feelings about this place. The property is in awful shape and lacks amenities that can be found in just about any tourist class hotel. I'll get to that in a minute.

What made staying here a good experience was the staff. I was very impressed with the friendly and very hardworking people that work here.

Otherwise every single thing about the place is run down. The room was in terrible shape. No internet connectivity in the room..only a weak wireless connection in the lobby. The rooms doors where poorly sealed and had to listen to the wind howling all night. Oh the breakfast was kinda gross too.

The place needs tons of improvement which it is unlikely to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We really enjoyed the location- a short walk along the riverfront trolley line into downtown. What better way to get around Astoria! The rooms were great, comfortable, clean and spacious. Larry- Thanks for going above and beyond in making our stay great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Riverwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Address: 400 Industry Street, Astoria, OR 97103
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Riverwalk Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have their own private balcony and overlook the Astoria marina. We are located on the Astoria River Walk and are the first stop on the Historical Trolley. From our location, you experience all the joys of a working industrial port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Astoria Riverwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Riverwalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.