We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Riverwalk Inn to your Saves list
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Industry Street, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Found this place by chance. Reception were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. Had a private balcony with views over the marina. Watched the sun go down and the boats come in. Within walking distance of a number of good eateries, including pub food and more upmarket. Short walk into town for all other amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    69
    47
    35
See reviews for
64
165
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Riverwalk Inn on August 25th. WE came from Cannon Beach and decided we would like to spend another night. It was the only Hotel that had any rooms from Cannon Beach all the way to Vancouver Washington. I did not see the Hotel I was directed there from an employee at the Best Western in Seaside. I thought how bad could it be as they are charging $175.00 per night. When we got there I almost kept on driving, if we didn't have out 6 month old and 5 year old son I would have kept driving. This is a Motel and is very run down. I said something to the employee at the front desk regarding how the rooms are and he said that this used to be the Red Lion and it sat vacant for 2 years. He said they had replaced the beds. I had to sign a waiver that we would not go onto the balconies as we were told we could fall through. I asked for a recommendation for a restaurant and he recommended a glorified Denny’s.. I told him were looking for something more upscale. He wasn’t very knowledgeable about that was around Astoria. We went to our room and it was very stuffy, we could not open the balcony as it was bolted shut. The room is very outdated, the furniture was old and showed wear and tear. I did not sit on the chairs. We went to dinner that night to an Italian place we found ourselves, I think it was called Fulio’s. It was excellent. I actually wanted to sleep in the restaurant, it was way nicer than our room. I hated to go back to that place. That night we heard every noise from the rooms surrounding us. There is no insulation.. There were people getting up at 4:00am and you could hear them talking and the water running, showering, ect... We got up shortly after that and checked out and left. The room was so stuffy we all woke up with sore throats. I was sorry that I had paid that much for a room like that in a place like that. I can’t believe they can get away with those rates. Again, this place is a Motel, you would be better off staying at the Motel 6 for half the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradSmithart, Manager at Astoria Riverwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review. We value your comments.

One of my favorite things about Astoria is our fine restaurants. I am glad you found Fulio's. If you make it back to Astoria, I highly recommend The Baked Alaska and The Urban Cafe. Also for breakfast, The Columbian has an excellent eclectic menu.

We apologize for the balconies being closed. We have been working with the city, and a local construction firm, to get our balconies rebuilt and safe. In fact, we are proud to say we now have 42 balconies open, with the remainder expected to be complete within the next 45 days. We are a locally owned and operated business, and we strive for a clean, professional, and friendly product. I apologize that your stay was not to you and your family's liking. We have family suites designed for children's enjoyment. I would love to have you come back, so we can show you OUR Astoria. Please contact Seth Davis, General Manager, or Brad Smithart, Operations Manager for your next booking, and regarding your past stay. We would love the opportunity to accomodate you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Brad Smithart
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We made a last minute trip to the coast and could not find an available, reasonably priced hotel at such late notice. We found the Riverwalk Inn on internet. It is located right at the base of the bridge, has a good marina view and is right on the riverwalk which goes along the Columbia River. Great location. The check in staff was very polite and welcoming. The room was clean. However, the TV was old and did not have a remote. The deck was unusable due to rotting wood. The price was right , (lower than the average place in that area), but the room wasn't great. There was a limited free breakfast . The check-out staff was also polite and helpful. The staff seemed very nice ... hope they can get funds to renovate the motel and return it to its "prime" !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradSmithart, Manager at Astoria Riverwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We value all guest responses. We pride ourselves on our excellent staff.

We are a locally owned and operated hotel, and are happy to say that your comments are being addressed. All our king size rooms now have flat-screened televisions, refridgerators, microwaves, and upgraded linens.

Being a small business, we are able to reinvest our revenues into further renovations. In 2013, $225, 000. 00 has already been earmarked for rolling capital improvements.

We look forward to having you stay in the future and enjoy the rebirth of Astoria's West Marina Basin.

Sincerely,

Brad Smithart
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

On the plus side, this hotel is right on the water and their staff is very pleasant and helpful.

Unfortunately this property is about 20 years past it's prime. Note that this is really a motel. You have to sign a waiver that you won't go out on any of the decks... apparently they are falling apart.

However, at the right price, it's an OK place to stay overnight if you're just in town for a short period.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradSmithart, Manager at Astoria Riverwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Isn't that a gorgeous view? I get to be in an office that stares out at that every day, and this summer I have gotten to see the beautiful sunset from the same place every night.

Balconies are being opened as we speak. We are sorry the waiver left a sour taste with you. Our concerns were for small children going through a balcony door that had been tampered with. Between myself, and the other owner, we are the father of seven boys. Our goal is always safety first.

We are currently working on repurposing some of the older furnishings and purchasing new furnishings made from eco-friendly, and sustainable resources whenever possible.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future, and giving us more feedback!

Sincerely,

Brad Smithart
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Riverwalk Inn on August 4th. It took 30 minutes for me to wait to check in, but I think that was mainly due to the hot weather so everyone was looking for a room. As every other reviewer has stated, you could not open the balcony window. The night we stayed, I believe it reached 91 degrees that day... which made for a very stuffy room, with no AC and no door to open. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and thought the somewhat tired facilities were clean. The breakfast bar was stocked and clean. Our room had a view of the marina and it was fun for the kids to watch the boats.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradSmithart, Manager at Astoria Riverwalk Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review. All feedback from our guests is appreciated.

We apologize for the stuffiness of your room when you were here. As of today, we have opened forty-two balconies, so guests will be able to enjoy the cool coastal breeze.. By the end of next week we anticipate having approximately seventeen more opened.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you return and try one of our family suites, a kid-friendly and cozy environment for the kids to enjoy.

Sincerely,

Brad Smithart
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our first response upon seeing the room was to wonder why we weren't staying at Holiday Inn Express. As noted by other reviewers, the property is sadly in need of a major facelift both outside and in. We had to sign a waiver agreeing to a $200 fine if we opened the door to the balcony, and when we entered the room we got the instant horrors. One of the armchairs had a big tear in it, the fake wood furniture was pretty beat up and the bedspreads were worn at the seams. We had requested a micro/fridge, but due to non-communication between their web booking and the front desk, our request had not been honored. Well.

They delivered a brand new microwave and mini-fridge within an hour of our arrival. It turned out the beds were brand new pillow tops, and the bathroom had been recently re-done and the entire room was spotlessly clean. The reading light was pretty good, the room was spacious and the view was outstanding. The location on the bike route was just perfect and we had a wonderful time. We've learned long ago not to panic over the first impression of a place.

We were still feeling a little bit "had" about paying $150+/night until we checked rates for other Astoria Hotels. Turns out it was quite a deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were planning a trip along the Oregon coast and wanted to finish our trip in Astoria, I saw a Groupon for this hotel for $65.00 and thought that was a great deal as it was advertised as fifty percent off. I now am reminded what the adage, "you get what you pay for," means! For nine nights of our trip, we stayed at a different hotel each night and this was by far, the "bottom of the barrel!" When we checked in, we had to sign an agreement that we wouldn't try to open the sliding glass door in the room that led to the balcony because, as the desk clerk explained, "The flooring on the patio isn't safe and may collapse if you go onto it!" We couldn't have opened it if we even wanted a little fresh air- it was bolted shut! The room was bare bones- bathroom tiles were mustard yellow, from a long time ago! The TV in the room was from the early nineties and did not have good reception. The furniture was not in great shape. To sum it up, the room and decor was "tired." A "breakfast" was included. The breakfast area was dirty; there was cereal on the floor and the trash can in the corner was over-flowing. There were three tables, all taken, so we had to wait for a table to sit down. When we finally did sit, the tables were soiled and there was nothing available to wipe the table off. They were out of paper plates. No employee was monitoring the room, and it showed. I'm glad I only paid $65.00 (which was still probably too much) and would have been extremely upset if I paid a dollar more!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Riverwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Address: 400 Industry Street, Astoria, OR 97103
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Riverwalk Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have their own private balcony and overlook the Astoria marina. We are located on the Astoria River Walk and are the first stop on the Historical Trolley. From our location, you experience all the joys of a working industrial port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Riverwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Riverwalk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.