We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Stevens State Park

Fort Stevens State Park
Astoria, OR
503-861-1671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Attractions in Astoria
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Chevy Chase
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A worthwhile visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fort Stevens Park contains the remnants of a Civil War to WWII coast fort with batteries of coastal artillery and mine laying facilities to protect the shipping entering and leaving the Columbia River. The small museum is packed with interesting memorabilia, photos and a fascinating account of the only Japanese air attack on the continental US in the Second World War. My visit was enhanced by a fellow visitor who had served at Fort Stevens and entertained staff and guests with tales of his duties at the base.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    80
    20
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This campground is massive....but it doesn't feel that way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came here knowing that it is the largest state park in Oregon. I was hesitant because we generally like smaller campgrounds but the draw of all there is to see in the area was too great.
I'm glad we didn't skip this place! Even though it's huge, when you are in your site, it doesn't feel like there are tons of people around.
Shipwreck beach is really cool...there were rangers out near the wreck with pictures of the wreck on that beach as well as other nearby wrecks while we were there. They patiently answered questions for a few hours.
It's a short drive to Astoria where there are all kinds of things to do (i conquered the Astoria Column finally!).
There is a lake with a swim area in the park. We drove by but decided to play in the ocean instead.
Just north of the campground is the historic military site. We walked around and took lots of pictures and then signed up for a truck tour. I recommend being in line at least 20 minutes before the tour as they sell out quickly. There is also a tour of one of the underground areas...i think it was called the Mischler tour? The museum on site is really interesting too. The truck tour, by the way, is perfect torture for too-cool-for-anything pre-teens. ;)
The only thing that I wish I would have known before hand is that, if you have a camping trailer, a pull through site is a must. The back-ins are a bit tight to get into.
The bathrooms were always clean. The staff and volunteers were friendly. There are tons in multi-use trails for walking, biking, skating, etc.
All in all, I'd say don't skip this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful state Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you want to camp there, please make your reservations early! Camp sites in Oregon fill up early. You can make the reservations on line. Nice park to ride your bike in or to just hike.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Natural beauty with a dose of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent a couple of days camping here. Beautiful fine grey sand on the beach a short mile walk ( or bike) from the campground. Steel superstructure of a shipwreck sitting on the beach is great for pictures and has an interesting history. North end of the park is a military base turned museum. Intact bunkers built over the last 100 years and history dating back to the civil war, very interesting. Overall park is in great shape and well cared for. Staff is helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“So many things to see and do...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had read about the Wreck of the Peter Iredale and to say that it was awsome is an understatement. There was a photographer couple there who were very kind to use our camera for a photo. Ft Stevens was also very interesting and historical. Enjoyed the entire area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Stevens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Stevens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Stevens State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.