We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria's portway

Astoria's portway
422 W. Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103
503-325-2651
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 83 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dive with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Kind of a dive and we weren't sure when we walked in if we would get served anytime soon. Only the bartender working and the place was pretty full. She made it over fairly quick, though, and after that we were served quickly. I ordered the fish and chips - called the best in town. I believe them. The fish was halibut. Nice amount of fish and fries. The hubs got a club sandwich that was huge. He only ate half! It was burger Tuesday but we had just had burgers so didn't order. Might have if I had seen them before ordering. They looked great and were only like $5.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Old salts bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a cool place with a great old history. I sat a the bar with a group of locals. Two tequilas and a very good and well served hamburger. Prepared to your liking
. I'd go back again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We love the burgers!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Bacon blu cheese burgers. There are no better!!! We love stopping here! The service is always good and the patrons seem friendly. We often see the same people during our visits.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“"Back again!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at the riverwalk inn for the weekend, so we had to go to the portway! Love this place! The staff is friendly the food is great! We ate there a couple of times over the weekend. We had steak and prawn, deep fried mushrooms, patty melt and a steak sandwich, which was all very good. Bloody Mary was perfect! And the best part was I put 20$ in video poker and hit $300!! So had to buy t-shirts too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Want to instantly feel like Family stop in at the Portway Tavern for Great Food & Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The place can be packed with only one person working the bar and tables and you will still be treated like family and served in a timely manner when you come to the Portway. The food and drinks are very good. I had fried mushrooms and a bacon cheeseburger and they were great.

A very diverse crowd where people know each other and even if they dont know you everybody is nice.

Big screen TV and Video lottery is available if your into it

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astoria's portway also viewed

Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Astoria's portway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria's portway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.