We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Remodeled, Still Tastey and Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ocean Thai Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Ocean Thai Cuisine
1040 Commercial St, Astoria, OR 97103-4519
503-325-1316
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 83 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
astoria, Oregon, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Newly Remodeled, Still Tastey and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The two of us ordered 3 appetizers and then shared a main dish. A feast, delicious variety and very satisfying. All 4 items only totaled $25.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I really enjoyed the food at this restaurant. It was authentic and tasty. The price was right as well. I had eaten at a few places in Astoria and surrounding areas and this was the best meal at a decent price. My son had the Pad Thai, I had the stir fry veggies and chicken and the wife had the garlic beef. All were good. The atmosphere was nice as well. I would highly reccomend this place.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have been living on the N. Coast for over two years. The wonderful Thai restaurant in Seaside pulled out. I have enjoyed Typhoon, Thai Elephant and others in the Portland metro but I decided to try the Thai Restaurant in Astoria. They are located in a well travelled part of Astoria. They have some very nice art on the walls. We started with the Thai Spring type rolls. They were fine and typical but all you vegetarians out there, they put chicken in them. The sauce was too heavy and overpowering, otherwise fresh and good.

You know what they say......"try the Pad Thai to judge a good Thai restaurant". They were generous with the fresh shrimp but the noodles were a little thicker and pastier than other restaurants. They use a universal thick, peanut-y sauce that oppresses the dish. There were no bean sprouts or lime...absolutely no garnish. The food did not look good on the plate.
I cannot recommend and I wish this restaurant the best.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Closest Thing to Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I don't know if you have the same love for Asian food as I do but Blue Ocean is my favorite. Blue Ocean is truly Authentic Thai food. Mind you I have eaten Thai food all over the Bay Area and nothing comes close to Blue Ocean. Everything here is fresh and I truly mean fresh. Blue Ocean's Ginger Soup is out of this world. The Mixed Seafood in spicy broth is not only a worthy portion but it is to die for. Blue Oceans' fresh Basil rolls with peanut sauce are delectable. The Papaya Salad, I have no words to express what it tastes like it's that good. I know there are lots of restaurants in Astoria. But if you are looking for Good, True, Authentic Thai food The Blue Ocean should be at the top of your list.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

There are a couple of restaurants we always enjoy, Yen Ha in Portland and
Blue Ocean in Astoria. Blue Ocean is at least as good as the Thai restaurants in Portland,
and maybe better...the Mango Sticky Rice is wonderful. Some out of town guests voted this the best restaurant they have been to..
The owner said he can make vegan dishes if requested, we haven't tried that yet.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ocean Thai Cuisine also viewed

Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blue Ocean Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ocean Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.