We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer selection, food is OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort George Brewery + Public House

Fort George Brewery + Public House
1483 Duane St, Astoria, OR 97103-3819
503-325-7468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 82 restaurants in Astoria
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: There’s always something new to try from the brewery’s rotating taps, including taster trays, pints, and growlers-to-go. The lively public house offers family-friendly dining with made-from-scratch meals using organic, natural, and local ingredients.An upstairs Woodfired Pizza venue was opened in the Summer of '13 and operates all day on Saturdays and Sundays, from 4:30-10pm on Wednesdays-Fridays and is closed Monday and Tuesday. Beautiful views and woodwork. Tours of the 30 barrel production brewery and beer canning line are available Saturdays and Sundays at 1pm and 4pm. Located on the site of the original 1811 settlement of Astoria, the locals lining the bar can get you up to speed on the city’s past, present, and future.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, food is OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ft. George brewery offeres some great beers. Now the problem is that there are often to many of them and they vary quite a bit by season. In any event, if you are in town and looking for a great beer that you can enjoy and even buy some and take it with you home this is a good place. Fodd, however, is average at best. Typical bar-food that doesn't really go well even with the beer. Atmosphere is very casual and relaxed. If only the music were not that loud this place would be much more pleasant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    121
    105
    36
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mixed Opinions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is essentially a pub, so you expect some noise, but we thought it was much too loud and had trouble carrying on a conversation. Other than that, the atmosphere was OK. The fried oysters were crisp and fantastic, as were the French fries. The Vortex IPA on draught was a sure winner. Unfortunately, my wife had the fish tacos, which were the worst she ever tasted. Usually the fish tacos we've had come with small pieces of fish, but these had a BIG chunk of rockfish(?) that was overcooked and just plain bad. While she didn't mention it the time, my wife later said she should have sent them back. For these reasons, I'm averaging out our experience to just "average".

The service was very good. Our waitress was friendly, cheerful and helpful. We would be willing to go back again, but skip the fish tacos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wood fired pizza! YUMMO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Many things I love about Ft. George ... 1) They are always upgrading, expanding, improving. Case in point...they salvaged sections of the old spiral stairwell from the Astoria Column and installed them inside and out. How cool is that? Think about how many feet have walked those steps since the 1920's? 2) They remodeled the upstairs and it is a beautiful space plus the wood fired pizza is AWESOME and the view is extraordinary. 3) Beer! I am not a beer drinker, but the hubs is and he's crazy about the Vortex IPA and the Calvatica Stout. I cannot tell you how impressed I am with the Ft. George. They,brought a great old historic building back to life...look up.....the wood beams will astonish you. Great outdoor seating. They acquired the building next door and are canning their most popular beers. Just so impressed with these folks! Thanks for investing in Astoria!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stopped for lunch on way to Westport and pleasantly surprised by the great atmosphere. They have great outside and inside seating. I had the fish and chips that were very tasty. My husband had the sausage and said they were so-so. Not being a beer drinker they did have a few wines available but nothing too spectacular. My husband enjoyed the beers on tap. Staff was great and friendly, food served fast and fresh. I give this rating mainly because of the casual, friendly atmosphere with great music playing. We’d definitely stop here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Leave some chili powder in the bottle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Friendly service. Food average. Worst chili 3 of us have ever had. I like chili powder, but this was overwhelming. No other flavors came through.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort George Brewery + Public House also viewed

 

Been to Fort George Brewery + Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort George Brewery + Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.