We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Motel

Lamplighter Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Astoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Save
You added Lamplighter Motel to your Saves list
131 W. Marine Drive, Astoria, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The motel was very centrally located to many restaurants nearby. It was clean and the staff seemed friendly. Rooms were a nice large size and had WiFi. Good price, we will definitely stay there on our next trip to the coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    17
    15
    7
See reviews for
6
29
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful.
Room was cozy and clean.
Good location, across from river, and near plenty of eateries., the visitor center is in the same block.
Nice lay out for breakfast, plus the Pig&Pancake is in the same parking lot.
The lobby had a lot of good information about the area that was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It was nice being greeted by friendly, smiling people, that actually seemed to appreciate our business. the motel was older but was clean. Wonderful morning pastries baked locally. located near a lot of restaurants and the riverwalk. Nice view of the big bridge.
Will go return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel is yucky - damp and VERY OLD and OUT OF DATE!!! In the morning while getting coffee in the lobby I overheard the manager tell a new employee that they keep track of how many nights each room is used and after 30 nights to wash the bedspread!!!!! GAG

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Level Contributor
142 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Motel prices in this town are stupid exensive. This one was the cheapest we found at $70 per night. Old motel, relativly clean but needs quality maintainence. Calking, painting, fixture installations, and many other things could be done better by a grade school kid and a box of cheap tools. You can see not much pride goes into the worksmanship around this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Without many choices in Astoria, we opted for cheap and were disappointed. This is a very old hotel. The room smelled odd. The bed was uncomfortable and small. Smoking rooms seeped into the walls so badly we had to open our windows and put a fan in the doorway. Floors didn't look very clean. The front door lock was hard to open. Bathroom window didn't lock. Bathroom door got stuck closed. Old sink and fixtures. We spent $61 but should have paid more for a better place. Look elsewhere unless you like less-than-motel-6 accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We drove by looking for a place to stay with our small Yorkie and I saw "Pet's OK" on the sign. I kept driving to scope out the town and as soon as we got to the end of Astoria we turned right back around. There are a few other small motels on the way back so we weren't sure where it was until I saw all the windows with the small lamps lit, welcoming us.

Michelle was so helpful and told us all about the great movie sights to see the next day. Goonies, Short Circuit and Kindergarten Cop were all shot in Astoria. If you are looking for some cool Hollywood sights, see Michelle at the Lamplighter and she will lead you to all the great destinations with a little trivia to boot.

The rooms are quaint and the vaulted ceilings really open up the space. Free Wi-Fi to boot. Our room overlooked the Columbia River so we had a great view! Overall, a great place to stay with excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Second floor gives a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
3.4 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#9 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.8 mi away
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
#5 of 14 in Astoria
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lincoln Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 131 W. Marine Drive, Astoria, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Astoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.