We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth standing in the rain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowpicker Fish & Chips

Bowpicker Fish & Chips
17th St. & Duane St., Astoria, OR 97103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“well worth standing in the rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

really great albacore fish & chips. had mine with balsamic vinegar instead of tartar sauce, delicious. they even have loaner umbrellas.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    74
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Albacore Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Like many others, we have wanted to try this family owned spot for years. We finally had our chance on a very warm Astoria day. We all thought the quality was great - even the fries - and the pricing quite reasonable. Nothing was greasy. There is limited outdoor seating and some folks brought their own lawn chairs to sit on the sidewalk. Beverages are limited to soda pop and water. I understand they do take phone orders which might help since the line can grow quite long. It might not be fancy, but we had a great lunch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lived up to its rep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The best fish and chips we've ever had! So fresh, not greasy, and who knew tuna made such great fish and chips?? We'll be back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ALBACORE TUNA AND CHIPS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a recommendation from a friend who loved it. It is basically a take-out place although in dry weather you can sit outside. This is a real boat, tiny, set up with kitchen facilities. There were two people in line in front of my husband. We had to try it in order to see what fish n chips tasted like cooking with albacore!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't go looking for ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had never had tuna fish and chips so wanted to try out this #1 rated site. Restaurant would be overstating - probably best described as a food cart decorated as a boat. Food was as good as expected and fairly prced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowpicker Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Bowpicker Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowpicker Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.