We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your canned Tuna fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowpicker Fish & Chips

Bowpicker Fish & Chips
17th St. & Duane St., Astoria, OR 97103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
sandusky ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not your canned Tuna fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We accidentally drove past this retired boat and thought, how quaint, little fish and chips restaurant. When we mentioned it at our motel, the owner said, best fish ever! All they serve is deep fried albacore tuna along with French fries. You can also purchase a soda, but that's it nothing else. They are open from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. My husband does not like tuna so we were ready to walk away, when the owner offered him a piece. Not anything like the tuna we are used to in the Midwest. Delicious does not describe the taste. Albacore tuna, freshly caught, tastes like sweet cod, or a flaky whitefish. A very mild taste, really good. Wish we stayed in Astoria longer to have enjoyed it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    74
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss it, unless it's really raining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

How can you not love this place? That is, unless it is raining really hard (in Astoria -how could that happen?). Have eaten here many times while travelling through town, and never been disappointed. Standing in line is always an adventure; whether engaging a local or traveler, if you are willing to smile and engage there are new friends to be made! On a nice day it can be tough to find a seat at a picnic table, but if you are willing to spook off some rather emboldened seagulls you can always sit on the curb in the parking lot, just keep a sharp eye on your chips! I never have figured out the opening and closing times, but if you drive by and the place is open, you won't be disappointed. Just tell your cardiologist you had fish for lunch, and skip the deep fried reference.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've passed by the Bowpicker many times choosing to eat someplace without a line. Finally we caved in to all the reviews and found that their fish and chips is, indeed, fantastic. It is a totally no frills place with only two items on the menu, fish and chips. Located in an old fishing boat next to Highway 30 just as you come into Astoria, there is only the boat, a parking lot and usually a really long line. There are a couple of picnic tables, but most people eat in their cars or take it home. I've never had fish and chips using tuna. It is more moist than halibut with a better texture and flavor than cod. There is very little breading on the fish. Neither the fish nor the french fries were greasy. The line actually moves fairly fast and the staff people are pleasant. We will definitely go back. They are closed in summer on Monday and Tuesday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Platonic ideal of fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If Plato's Republic included a description of the ideal fish and chips, it would probably be pretty much like the ones available at Bowpicker. They're made from properly drained tuna, panko bread crumbs, and who knows what kind of oil, because they're not greasy at all. Even the chips, which are potatoes with a thicker cut than most french fries, aren't greasy. We waited in line for about 15 minutes, and it was totally worth the wait. If you want haute cuisine, this isn't your place. If you want some of the best fish and chips ever, consumed on a picnic table, it is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly delicious fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

There was a pretty long (25-minute) queue for fish and chips at about 1pm. We ordered servings to go, and even after a 15-minute walk back to the hotel, the 5 generous albacore tuna fish chunks were fresh, juicy and hot, and fried just right, not tough or dry at all. The beer batter remained crispy but not hard, and was neither oily nor soggy. The chips (fries, for avoidance of doubt) were thick cut, home style. Malt vinegar, tartar sauce, a dashing of salt. We polished everything off quickly. There's absolutely nothing not to love about this.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowpicker Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Bowpicker Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowpicker Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.