We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food! Worth the wait to stand in line :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowpicker Fish & Chips

Bowpicker Fish & Chips
17th St. & Duane St., Astoria, OR 97103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Nampa, Idaho
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Food! Worth the wait to stand in line :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I went here because of all of the reviews on Trip Advisor :) We were blown away by how good it is :) We will return again and again when we vacation on the oregon coast :) There was a long line due but the people in line were fun to talk to so it went fast. :) It was worth the wait :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    79
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washougal, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good, fresh tuna fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I got into Astoria on a Saturday, just in time to try the fish and chips at the Bowpicker! I had read a lot of reviews and so I was glad they were still open.
The fish was very good, especially since it was so fresh, but I guess we're not true fish and chips fans since it didn't really blow us away. And the chips were merely average.
If you love fish and chips, these are definitely worth a try - the batter is nice and light, and the fish tastes great - but I doubt we'll go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, BC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really good little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was raining like mad when I went here and it was outdoors, but there was a line to buy food -- and a guy in line said the lineup was across the parking lot in summer. Of course! The food is good and cheap, and prices in Astoria are crazy high. So try it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went on a camping trip in our camper from Astoria to the southern Oregon coast. Figured we"d try this place as Tripadvisor said it was good. I'v caught Tuna and only had it canned and smoked. I figured it was too oily to eat deep fried like salmon would be. But this place had good reviews so we tried it and it was great!

You get 5 good size pieces of Tuna and good portion of frys all for $10. The batter they use on the Tuna was really good. The lady, owner, that was doing the cooking was nice and chatted all the while she was cooking and her helper was very nice too.

If you want great Tuna fish and chips cooked by Nice people at a super price this is the place to go. It's only take out but there is a great view of the bay near by.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Arguably the best fish and chips anywhere, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When the Bowpicker is open and when the weather is nice and if there are not too many folks in line, the place is amazing. However, if it's closed (which it often is) or the weather is bad (which it often is) or the line is long (which it often is)it takes a little of the luster away. No one wants to wait in line while the rain pours down (there is no place to hide) or drive for 15 miles from Seaside only to find out it's not open. Then it becomes not such a nice experience. When it's good it is very very good, but when it isn't it's not worth the pain.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowpicker Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Bowpicker Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowpicker Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.