We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowzers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowpicker Fish & Chips

Bowpicker Fish & Chips
17th St. & Duane St., Astoria, OR 97103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wowzers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is ooooo sooooo delicious and I will definitely be back. Best fish and chips that I have ever had!! The fish is flavorful and perfectly cooked, the batter is crisp and light. I will be scheduling my next trip to Astoria around the days they are open.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    79
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Best Halibut Fish & Chips in the area. You'll need to eat elsewhere though, It really is a boat on dry land.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Food in an outdoor setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

By far and away the best fish and chips I have had the pleasure of eating! I have eaten at this establishment for many years and the fresh daily albacore tuna has yet to disappoint. Except when I don't make it there before they sell out or get completely rained out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Ever Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Have been here several times and it is always top quality. The fish is albacore tuna, moist and delicious. Always a line at noon, but it goes quickly and is worth the wait. A few picnic tables are on the property, but there's always the car. Steak fries are ordinary but always nice and hot!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Even when the lines are long, the wait is worth the flavor! Great meal and a reasonable price! I wish it was open each time we were in Astoria.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowpicker Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Bowpicker Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowpicker Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.