We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful History Lesson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Clatsop National Memorial

Fort Clatsop National Memorial
92343 Fort Clatsop Road, Astoria, OR 97103
503-861-2471
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Attractions in Astoria
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A replica of Lewis & Clark's original fort built during their expedition in 1805.
Paradise California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful History Lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place is amazing. I only wish we had more time to see everything. We watched the movie of the Louis and Clark expedition, which had a lot more information than I recall learning as a child. It was fun to see the fort and where the canoe's landed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    77
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Informative Visitor Center, Replica Fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The displays in the visitor center were very interesting and informative about the stories of Lewis & Clark and their men as the made their way across the United States. The replica fort was interesting, but didn't take more than a few minutes to walk through. Overall, a good short stop if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A trip in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Start with the interpretative center and spend some time looking at the exhibits. This was the home of the Lewis and Clark expedition while it wintered over in 1805. If you are interested in American history, this is a "must visit" stop. Friendly staff, well versed and ablt to answer even my mundane questions. The actual fort will take about 15 minutes to visit. Plan a two hour plus stop for this one. Part of the National Park system, fee unless you have the card. I feel this is wheelchair accessible but may take some effort. The interpretative center is handicap accessible. No camping, park closes at 5:00 PM.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lewis and Clark stayed here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This place has some amazing history. It was the fort that protected the mouth of the columbia river.Big cannon pointed right at the mouth along with about 25 victorian style home that are beautiful and the people were very informative. lots of room for the kids to run free. They also have camp grounds you can stay at and they say t here is a ghost in military uniform who roams the grounds with his rifle protecting all who visit or camp. lots of lewis and clark memorabilia,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Park visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped by Fort Clatsop on our way to Astoria. We only stayed for about an hour due to time constraints, but on the random day we were there, it was not crowded. We were more interested in the scenery than history, and there are some nice scenic trails. Recommend if you need something to do to pass the time!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Clatsop National Memorial also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Fort Clatsop National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Clatsop National Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.