We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely renovation, but some downsides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Commodore Hotel to your Saves list
Commodore Hotel
258 14th Street, Astoria, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Lovely renovation, but some downsides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Commodore is certainly well situated within Astoria - right in the centre of the downtown. The views are lovely (bridge, waterfront, river), and the staff are very helpful and welcoming. The renovation is great - everything looks good, even the hallways. Our suite was a nice size, with a comfortable bed, sofa/table, two big windows, ipod player, etc. However, the room really does not include any extras - coffee, real glasses (plastic only), local information, etc. None of this is absolutely necessary, but for the price, it would have been nice. As others have mentioned, the location really is noisy. There are two major roads nearby, one on either side of the hotel. All seems quiet in the first part of the night, but the heavy truck traffic starts very early in the morning. Double-paned windows would probably help a lot.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
84
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is exactly as advertised. It is in a great location near everything and very well renovated. It is very noisy as you would expect for an old building with original windows and on a main shipping street in a port town. If you are looking for a quiet boring place this isn't it. Great coffee shop down stairs and a block away from the river walk and the Sunday market. We had a great time and would stay there again for sure. One small suggestion for the hotel, if you ask " what's your favourite movie?" During the reservation phase you would have blown me away by having it waiting in my room when I arrived. That would have gone above my expectations and would have been very cool.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a great stay at the Commodore. Staff was friendly and having the coffee shop connected to the lobby was very convenient. The only thing I would point out if you are a light sleeper this might not be the best choice. The street outside is very busy and can be loud at times. Otherwise a great stay off the beaten path.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I loved my stay here. The staff was great, rooms were clean, and reasonably priced. Bathrooms and showers are shared among the floor but I never had to wait.

Rooms are small but clean and have the essentials. The bed was very comfortable.

The little coffee shop next door is connected through the lobby when open and serves a great breakfast.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you like boutique hotels, the commodore will not disappoint. Tiny rooms but perfectly arranged and decorated. Rooms with shared bathrooms (all immaculate and beautifully tiled and with modern fixtures) saves money (our room was $89/night). It's a lovingly maintained old building. Some rooms may have a view but our little cheapie didn't. One thing I liked about the booking process was they give you a map of the rooms so you can pick yours. It's walking distance to many good eating spots - HIGHLY recommend Columbia Cafe. The Commodore is like a hotel you'd find in San Fransisco but right there in the middle of Astoria! The people manning the desk are very friendly and helpful and the annexed coffee shop is a lovely touch. Book with confidence (if you are ok with tiny but beautiful euro-style rooms.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. They provide all the information you might desire to have a marvelous visit to Astoria and offered with clarity and affability. As the title suggests the beds are phenomenal, the sheets soft and the shared washrooms and showers clean and convenient. Admitedly the walls are thin, we had trouble drifting off our second night due the amorous activities of our neighbors. So if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. A stay in this hotel and a visit to Astoria are both well worth that bit of extra effort! One warning, the scents of coffee and pastries wafting from the cafe downstairs each morning will leave you little choice but to visit and offer them your custom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel owners have done an amazing job restoring this unique heritage property. The original character of the building is maintained and yet the place doesn't have an "old" feel...it feels clean and up to date.

Our room was small (typical of what you would expect in Europe or in a historic property) and had a sink and mirror but no other bathroom facilities. There are shared toilets and showers at the end of the hall. We very quickly got over this unusual feature (heritage building...) because the showers and bathrooms were always impeccably, spotlessly clean, and also we never encountered any waits or issues with other guests all trying to use the facilities at once. The hotel owners have made an interesting choice to leave the building like this but in doing so they avoided major renovations that would only show up as higher room fees.

Quirk number two is that there is no hotel parking. There is street parking nearby but you have to pay careful attention to the signs as the streets closest to the hotel have time restrictions and other restrictions. If you go about 3 blocks away, you can park without restrictions. We pulled up and offloaded our car and then just parked it 3 blocks away for the whole time, was really not a big deal.

Finally, the only thing that really bothered me about this hotel and the reason I knocked a star off was the fact that it is right near a busy highway and as you'll typically have your windows open in the summer (no a/c), the constant sound of logging trucks and other traffic definitely affected my sleep.

Despite all of the above I would definitely stay here again and for the price I think it's a great opportunity to stay in a centrally located, beautifully restored heritage building in Astoria, if you're willing to accept some things that are different from a typical American hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 258 14th Street, Astoria, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Astoria Downtown Historic District, the Commodore Hotel occupies the 1925 Lewis Building, designed by John E. Wicks, Astoria's most influential architect. The hotel operated from 1925 until 1968, first as the Barton Inn Hotel and then as the Commodore. Shuttered for 40 years, the Commodore reopened in 2009 after an extraordinary renovation. Retaining the original doors, windows, woodwork, and fixtures-all meticulously rehabilitated-the Commodore is now a shining example of the highest standards of contemporary design and construction. The Commodore shares the historic Lewis Building with the legendary Street 14 Coffee, which you can enter directly from the lobby. Downtown Astoria is overflowing with sensory delights-dining, shopping, hiking and more are at your fingertips. Take a romantic stroll along the scenic Riverwalk. Take a ride on the Riverfront Trolley. Take a swim at the Aquatic Center. As our guest, you have access to a curated selection of films available on DVD from the front desk. Watch Goonies in the town where it was filmed. Spend a blustery night curled up with Chinatown or Magnolia. Put together a personal film festival by choosing from over 100 available titles ranging from 3 Days of the Condor to The X-Files. The Commodore understands the importance of sustainable and Earth-friendly business practices. We recycle-and we encourage our guests to do the same-and the hotel is kept sparkling with eco-safe cleaning products. Our commitment to sustainability is recognized by the Travel Oregon Forever Network. Free parking is readily available within a few blocks. Short-term street parking in front of the hotel is usually an option for check-in. The front desk can guide you to long-term parking near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.