We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local yet Inviting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Astoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commodore Hotel
258 14th Street, Astoria, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Astoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local yet Inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a great stay at the Commodore. Staff was friendly and having the coffee shop connected to the lobby was very convenient. The only thing I would point out if you are a light sleeper this might not be the best choice. The street outside is very busy and can be loud at times. Otherwise a great stay off the beaten path.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
68
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I loved my stay here. The staff was great, rooms were clean, and reasonably priced. Bathrooms and showers are shared among the floor but I never had to wait.

Rooms are small but clean and have the essentials. The bed was very comfortable.

The little coffee shop next door is connected through the lobby when open and serves a great breakfast.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you like boutique hotels, the commodore will not disappoint. Tiny rooms but perfectly arranged and decorated. Rooms with shared bathrooms (all immaculate and beautifully tiled and with modern fixtures) saves money (our room was $89/night). It's a lovingly maintained old building. Some rooms may have a view but our little cheapie didn't. One thing I liked about the booking process was they give you a map of the rooms so you can pick yours. It's walking distance to many good eating spots - HIGHLY recommend Columbia Cafe. The Commodore is like a hotel you'd find in San Fransisco but right there in the middle of Astoria! The people manning the desk are very friendly and helpful and the annexed coffee shop is a lovely touch. Book with confidence (if you are ok with tiny but beautiful euro-style rooms.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. They provide all the information you might desire to have a marvelous visit to Astoria and offered with clarity and affability. As the title suggests the beds are phenomenal, the sheets soft and the shared washrooms and showers clean and convenient. Admitedly the walls are thin, we had trouble drifting off our second night due the amorous activities of our neighbors. So if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. A stay in this hotel and a visit to Astoria are both well worth that bit of extra effort! One warning, the scents of coffee and pastries wafting from the cafe downstairs each morning will leave you little choice but to visit and offer them your custom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel owners have done an amazing job restoring this unique heritage property. The original character of the building is maintained and yet the place doesn't have an "old" feel...it feels clean and up to date.

Our room was small (typical of what you would expect in Europe or in a historic property) and had a sink and mirror but no other bathroom facilities. There are shared toilets and showers at the end of the hall. We very quickly got over this unusual feature (heritage building...) because the showers and bathrooms were always impeccably, spotlessly clean, and also we never encountered any waits or issues with other guests all trying to use the facilities at once. The hotel owners have made an interesting choice to leave the building like this but in doing so they avoided major renovations that would only show up as higher room fees.

Quirk number two is that there is no hotel parking. There is street parking nearby but you have to pay careful attention to the signs as the streets closest to the hotel have time restrictions and other restrictions. If you go about 3 blocks away, you can park without restrictions. We pulled up and offloaded our car and then just parked it 3 blocks away for the whole time, was really not a big deal.

Finally, the only thing that really bothered me about this hotel and the reason I knocked a star off was the fact that it is right near a busy highway and as you'll typically have your windows open in the summer (no a/c), the constant sound of logging trucks and other traffic definitely affected my sleep.

Despite all of the above I would definitely stay here again and for the price I think it's a great opportunity to stay in a centrally located, beautifully restored heritage building in Astoria, if you're willing to accept some things that are different from a typical American hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent 1 night at the Commodore on our way south on the 101 and really enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were kind and had great recommendations about the area. The room was tastefully decorated and had a sink, a TV w/DVD and an iPod docking station.
The shared bathroom (or private shared, as the owner calls it) was very clean and indeed private. Never even had to wait for someone to get out. The only flaws were the poor wi fi signal we got in our room and even in the lobby and the heat in our room (it was near some pipes or something, had two fans in the room though).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going through lovely Astoria!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Recently I took customers fishing just north of Astoria and needed a reasonable place to stay. We stayed in the rooms without a bath. I always love these type of hotels even though I'm one of those people that get up several times a night to use the toilet. You get a bathrobe. Bathrooms are just a short distance down the hall. Room was clean. Was worried about staying there in the summer with no AC but the room was plenty cool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 258 14th Street, Astoria, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Commodore Hotel to your Saves list