We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experiance You Can't Afford To Miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shallon Winery

Shallon Winery
1598 Duane Street, Astoria, OR 97103
503-325-5978
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Activities in Astoria
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shallon Winery is a very small, one-man operation that is open every afternoon, one to six PM, and has been for over 30 years. It, therefore, has to specialize in unique products unavailable elsewhere, such as totally wild berry wines, whey wines, Lemon Meringue Pie wine, and, Chocolate Orange wine. It is a working, functioning winery, not a wine shop.The winemaker prefers a one on one relation with his guests, which entails a brief visit and explanation in the wine making room, followed by tasting all the wines available in a sequence.Local historical information is usually included in the presentation.This visit may run from a minimum of a half hour to an hour or more depending on questions and conversation.Unfortunately, the winery can not afford to entertain larger groups, and frequently is closed to the walk-in public during the days of cruise ship arrivals. However, serious individuals or couples may call during the day for an appointment at those times.
montesano, Wa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Experiance You Can't Afford To Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We found Shallon Winery 10 years ago. What an experience.. when we're in Astoria, Shallon is our first stop. Absolutely the most excellent wine and Paul is a jewel. He's also a connoisseur of fine food. Just ask and he will direct you to the finest eateries in town and beyond.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bingen, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting caretaker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The wine is very good but enjoyed the animation, history and stories of the elder gentleman that gives the tours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My new favorite winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We shared a combination of great wine and conversation with Paul. His passion for the wine-making is reflected in the delicious and unique flavors of wine he produces. We came home with three bottles of wine and wish we had brought enough cash for more (cash only!).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must Visit for Wine & Chocolate Lovers in Astoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A friend told us about this unique winery and its wines, so we decided to visit next time we were in Astoria -- glad we did -- the winemaker, 88 year old Paul van der Veldt, is a delight to chat with and share his passion for making unique wines using whey and local berries -- the cranberry and blackberry whey wines were outstanding as well as the unique chocolate orange wine also made with whey -- we will definitely revisit when we return to Astoria

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our time at Shallon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Thanks, Paul, for hosting us and sharing your dreams and your passion for wine! We enjoyed each of your creations, and were happy that you so graciously shared your time with us. We wish you many more years of sharing your craft with the world!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shallon Winery also viewed

 

Been to Shallon Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shallon Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.