We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I found the motel much better than many reviews would suggest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Dunes Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Dunes Motel to your Saves list
Astoria Dunes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   288 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I found the motel much better than many reviews would suggest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here for over a week. I chose it because of its proximity to the harbor where I was working on my boat, and because it had a laundromat that I needed. I had a view room with king bed and it was very nice - large room, comfortable bed, fairly recently updated, with bar fridge and microwave. The staff was friendly, the view of the river and the bridge was quite good, and the price was reasonable. A one mile walk to historic downtown Astoria, along either the main road or the riverfront walkway. Unappealing "breakfast" in the small lobby included - but there is a great little coffee shop right across the street. Not sure why it receives so many unfavorable reviews - perhaps some of the rooms are not as nice as the one I had. For a roadside motel I thought it was very good, and it seems quite popular - throughout my stay it was busier than the other motels in the area. Ask for a view room with king bed and you should be satisfied.

Room Tip: View rooms with king bed are spacious and updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    34
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
41
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Could not believe that they allowed the hotel to accept guests while they were resurfacing the parking lot!!! We had made our reservations in advance and upon arrival that evening the hotel was full of paving equipment. The noise continued until dark and resumed promptly the next morning at daybreak. NO rest for the weary!! The breakfast area..as there was no seating..consisted of coffee , packaged danish,banana or apple. The whole visit was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Visit another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here two days and the room was clean, quiet and the staff very nice. Would recommend to anyone. Not too expensive and close to the Astoria walk. We used the jacuzzi and it was clean and well taken care of as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The outside look decent, close to downtown and view of the Astoria-Megler Bridge. Room was clean and useable, beds were very uncomfortable. Had to call office at 3am to complain of above a neighbor which was resolve quite quickly. Walls/Floor very thin. Price was very high due to being off season at the end of September. Wi-Fi was awful, didn’t work most/all of the time, just used my 4G on my cell phone and got better results. Breakfast was grab and go muffins/pastries along with banana and apple, the orange juice was horrible tasting. Not American Owned/Ran

Room Tip: Only view is the parking lot/road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa az
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Astoria is a quaint town on the Columbia River which prides itself as the site
of the movie "Goonies." The Dunes Hotel is a basic pet-friendly hotel on the
riverwalk, so it's an easy 15-minute walk with or without your dog to reach the
restaurant area. There are rooms with a view, but nothing special. A simple
coffee-and-muffins breakfast is included.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We paid a decent amount to stay at this Motel. At first, we were greeted with cookies and a complimentary paper. Staff was nice, cookies and paper were supposed to be available daily, they were not. The room was small, TV wasn't working well, the microwave made an awful noise, the juice (@free very limited breakfast) was room temp and hot chocolate scalding hot (lid didn't fit well, came off and I got burned). The hot tub had an unusual color water. Overall lacking, disappointed at quality for cost.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are docked in the marina and want an affordable place to stay, the Dunes is great. This is a very no-frills hotel but the rooms were clean and didn't smell (like a lot of other beachy hotels can stink). Easy walk to the marina for best fishing access. Also located within walking distance of seeral good pubs and cafes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Dunes Motel

Address: 288 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Dunes Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Dunes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.