We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Dunes Motel

Save Saved
You added Astoria Dunes Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Dunes Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   288 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Astoria
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The outside look decent, close to downtown and view of the Astoria-Megler Bridge. Room was clean and useable, beds were very uncomfortable. Had to call office at 3am to complain of above a neighbor which was resolve quite quickly. Walls/Floor very thin. Price was very high due to being off season at the end of September. Wi-Fi was awful, didn’t work most/all of the time, just used my 4G on my cell phone and got better results. Breakfast was grab and go muffins/pastries along with banana and apple, the orange juice was horrible tasting. Not American Owned/Ran

Room Tip: Only view is the parking lot/road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    32
    29
    6
    10
See reviews for
14
37
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mesa az
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Astoria is a quaint town on the Columbia River which prides itself as the site
of the movie "Goonies." The Dunes Hotel is a basic pet-friendly hotel on the
riverwalk, so it's an easy 15-minute walk with or without your dog to reach the
restaurant area. There are rooms with a view, but nothing special. A simple
coffee-and-muffins breakfast is included.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We paid a decent amount to stay at this Motel. At first, we were greeted with cookies and a complimentary paper. Staff was nice, cookies and paper were supposed to be available daily, they were not. The room was small, TV wasn't working well, the microwave made an awful noise, the juice (@free very limited breakfast) was room temp and hot chocolate scalding hot (lid didn't fit well, came off and I got burned). The hot tub had an unusual color water. Overall lacking, disappointed at quality for cost.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are docked in the marina and want an affordable place to stay, the Dunes is great. This is a very no-frills hotel but the rooms were clean and didn't smell (like a lot of other beachy hotels can stink). Easy walk to the marina for best fishing access. Also located within walking distance of seeral good pubs and cafes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were sent here by another hotel in Astoria as our fist choice (and apparently all hotels in Astoria) were full due to fishing season. The staff were friendly and polite and the hotel is located near to accessible routes to the centre (a minutes drive away). The rooms are exceptionally small. I'm from the UK and am used to small, but compared to other hotels, and even small hotels, these rooms are very very small!
But considering we arrived late and were leaving early the next day, we only wanted a place to rest our heads, so it did the job. Wouldn't really recommend for anything other than a layover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We were tired and it was getting late so decided to stay here.

Definitely not recently decorated, very basic rooms that are not well kept. Shower head could not be attached on wall and was just hanging down. Breakfast isn't exciting just go for fruits and grab a real coffee elsewhere.

The kids loved the pool oblivious to the fact it wasn't clean and had that greenish tint. US$130 a night you can do better with your dollars elsewhere I'm sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The day we were arriving in Astoria, we called several lodgings looking for the cheapest room that had a view of the river/harbor. Best Western quoted us at $170/night. The employee at the front desk at Dune's told us that for $99/night we would have a view of the river. And of course, free wi-fi. Great!

When we came around to our room, our only view was of a tour bus. Around 7am our alarm clock went off, oops, no, it was the tour bus starting its day. When the bus left, our view changed from bus to 5' grass field. The only thing we could actually see was the bridge, which was pretty cool.

I went for a bike ride with my son, and when I came back, my key didn't work. Front desk quickly alleviated this problem while my wife held a sleeping 30lb boy, on the verge of letting him slip out of her arms. That's what made that occurrence problematic.

The bathroom door didn't latch, the hot/cold on the sink faucet was reversed, most of the channels on the TV were unwatchable, and the wi-fi worked 0% of the time and the front desk's only advice was "keep trying".

Small occurrences that by themselves were too minor to mention, but when added up really showed how little effort was made to make this place a positive experience. I wouldn't recommend this place - not for $100/night.

We're almost certain one of our cellphones was stolen out of the room by one of the cleaning staff - of which was working with his 12 year old boy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Dunes Motel

Address: 288 West Marine Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Dunes Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Astoria Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Dunes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.