We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia River Maritime Museum

Columbia River Maritime Museum
1792 Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103
503-325-2323
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$100*
and up
Oregon Coast Day Trip from Portland: Astoria and...
Ranked #1 of 24 Attractions in Astoria
Type: Specialty Museums, Bodies of Water, Museums
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum celebrating the history of ship travel on the Columbia River.
British Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent layout and history of the maritime area including coast guard, WW II information and salmon fishing / processing

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    119
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Must See on the Oregon Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've visited the Columbia river Maritime Museum several times on weekend trips to Astoria, and we've been very impressed with the high quality and variety of exhibits. The museum is very well organized and offers an absolutely fascinating overview of the maritime history of the region, including some fantastic exhibits on the history of the Coast Guard's lifeboat service (including a full scale lifeboat). As city clickers originally from the Midwest, they always awestruck by the unbelievable courage and toughness of this culture that has chosen to make their living on the sea.

The adult-oriented displays are excellent, but there are also a good number of exhibits and activities for kids. Our two boys, ages 6 & 8, were easily entertained and occupied for a couple of hours. The current "Crossing the Bar" exhibit on navigating the treacherous bar where the Columbia River meets the Pacific Ocean just a few miles downstream was fascinating for all of us. We also enjoyed the outdoor exhibits, including tours of a Pilot Boat and Light Ship moored alongside the museum - well worth the time it takes to tour.

Paired with a lunch at one of the outstanding brew pubs and some shopping in downtown Astoria, and you've got a great day in an incredibly lovely coastal town. Just two hours from Portland, it's well worth a day trip from the city to also experience the Oregon coast.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

expensive but well worth a visit. my three year old son loved it as did my 60 year old historian father.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The museum is well laid out with many interesting exhibits and artifacts involving the local maritime history of Astoria. One of the neat exhibits was the old lighthouse ship moored along the dock that is open for tours as part of the exhibit. Interesting place and you can linger as long as you wish. If you're in the area a trip here will enhance your knowledge and enjoyment of Astoria.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've been to this museum twice now and deliberately went here with my parents to show my Dad who is a huge Lifeboat (aka Coastguard) fan! It is such an interesting museum - we all enjoyed it from ages 6 - 66! It shows the dangers of the bar so well but also discusses the industries that made the city.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia River Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Columbia River Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia River Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.