We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Rooms and Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Columbia River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Columbia River to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3420 Leif Erickson Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Nice Rooms and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed on the second floor of the Comfort Suites Columbia River in Astoria on a Wednesday night in mid-April. The room was very nice. It had a king bed, a refrigerator, a sink separate from the bath and a sofa area separate from the sleeping area. The wifi worked very well. The breakfast had hot and cold food and fruit. Everything was clean and smelled good.
Our only concern was the constant cacophony of sound from the seals and sea lions which are on the docks very near the Hotel.They made noise all night. If you are bothered by noises then mention that to the management and they will put you in a room further from the dock area.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you then the seals and sea lions will be a problem - they make noise all day and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Comfort Suites Columbia River is an excellent value. Our room was rather large and well appointed. The sleeping area is separated from the living room by a half-height wall/partition. The couch and a nice desk allowed me (an early riser) to get some work done while my wife slept in. The bathroom looks a bit institutional but it's fine. The walls/ceiling are a bit thin, I could hear the shower from the room above us. The wifi network works rather well. The front desk and dining area staff are very friendly. The breakfast was good, I liked the biscuits and gravy but the coffee was rather weak. The hotel was near all the museums and restaurants that we intended to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front of the hotel to avoid hearing all the sea lions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On our first time trip to Oregon, we stayed here while in Astoria. Hearing the barking sea lions around back on a rock in the Columbia River, we were a little nervous that our night's sleep would be cursed. But no worries. The receptionist acknowledged the sea lions bark all night, and booked us a roadside room. And then gave us a great restaurant recommendation. We were very pleased with our stay here and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a roadside room. The hotel is outside of the main drag, so the roadside is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcatron243
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked a two queen suite with a river view and were not disappointed. We loved the room, and the view. The beds were comfortable, and the pool and hot tub were great!!! The breakfast was delicious. The staff was awesome!! Yes, we could hear the sea lions, but it wasn't loud enough to keep us up. Be prepared though, you can hear them. The people in the rooms around us slamming doors kept us up more than the sea lions. I can't wait to go back and stay!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We have been staying in Astoria for district swim meets the last 4 years. Last year i didn't make the reservation and was not able to stay at the Comfort Suites. We were sad as they have given us great service and a clean comfortable room every other year. Reservations secured our stay there this year and it was as expected excellent overall package.

Room Tip: If you aren't into the sea lions stay on the other side of the building you cant here them from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We chose this hotel for the view of the Columbia river, thinking reviews that mentioned noisy sea lions would be mitigated by ear plugs. The alternative was a close highway view, probably quieter but not anywhere near as attractive. Could not sleep even with plugs and a pillow over my head. Further insult was the discovery that a two month old review by someone else mentioned TV remote did not work fully. With almost a 100 channels, you could not select a particular one, only scroll up or down. The maintenance man brought a new one, same problem. He said some of the rooms were like that, I thought because the remotes were a universal type rather than that which belongs with the TV. This Hotel could be a real delight if they invested in the double windows they use at airport hotels.
The front desk staff were super, even helping me scan some ID to Paypal to clear up a dormant credit card. Unfortunately, even with a rebate, and wonderful staff, I would not stay here again until they upgrade. PS the sea lions, all 300, were here when they built the hotel.

Room Tip: Hard to believe, but a room facing a highway would be MUCH quieter than ones facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

we found the room very nice two large beds all the things you need after a day of traveling very clean staff was gracious polite and willing to help with directions or whatever it has a beautiful view of the Columbia river and is centrally located easy to find and get in and out of parking lots...room and sitting area were spacious all appliances are updated and modern found the manager to be very polite and helpful would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: rooms on river side have a great view try 213
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia River

Address: 3420 Leif Erickson Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Columbia River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia River Hotel Astoria
Comfort Suites Astoria
Astoria Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Columbia River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.