We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying Hard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Columbia River

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Columbia River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3420 Leif Erickson Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Northampton, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Trying Hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is located on the east side of downtown so you will have to drive to most restaurants and attractions. But it is next to an excellent Safeway grocery store and the cheapest gas in Astoria. There is a trolley stop right behind the hotel (operates Noon to 6pm) so you have an alternative to driving. The rooms on the river side have a great view (if you are up high enough) but be prepared for the sea lions that bark 24/7. We put our room fan on low at night and there was enough white noise to drown out the sound. Our room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and recommended an excellent Mexican restaurant. Coffee and cookies were free in the lobby.

I wanted to rate this hotel higher than average because they were trying very hard, but missed the mark in a few cases. The sink area was outside the bathroom, which we actually prefer, but the switch to operate the light was by the entry door and not very convenient. They have a guest laundry but did not have any soap to buy (we had to go to Safeway to buy laundry soap) and there was no folding table or place to put your clean clothes. The free breakfast included a good selection but the setup was inconvenient. We needed an 'accessible' shower which was very large with grab bars all over the place (my husband loved it) but there was only one small shelf just big enough to hold one bar of soap. We had to put the rest of our toiletries on the seat.

We booked well in advance and got a very good rate. Despite the shortcomings, we probably would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a higher floor and use the room fan to drown out the sea lions if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice hotel with Columbia River views on upper floors (rear facing rooms, ground floor obstructed views). The people here are wonderful. Special thanks to Dayann on the front desk and Kristina the breakfast girl. The room was well appointed with a Refrigerator and Microwave. The internet worked well. Breakfast ran to 10 AM even on weekdays (thanks). I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rear rooms have an obstructed view of the Columbia River because of bushes. I would sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room was very clean and had a great Jacuzzi in room with a good breakfast in the morning. Got a good night's sleep and was not a bad place to stay. I could hear the sea lions in the nearby harbor which we enjoyed but may not be for everyone. I did have a few complaints with the room though so it was not my favorite. The deadbolt did not lock so I did not feel completely safe and the bathroom was also not the best. The bath fan did not work and it was a handicap friendly room which I would not have minded if it did not have the lifted toilet seat. Astoria seemed to be a very expensive town so the price was not bad but still the highest of my trip so far.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Property is a little dated, but hotel was clean and staff was great. Had harbor side room and could hear the sea lions bark but not a problem for sleeping. Complimentary breakfast was fine and 24-hr pool and hot tub was nice. Train trolley runs behind hotel and you can take it downtown to visit many antique shops, breweries, museum. Loved Buoy Beer. Be sure and go to dock to see hundreds of sea lions and watch fisherman clean their catch.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a water view, but you will pay more for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitsy M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled with the changes we have made to the property, and we are also quite fond of our "distraction attraction" - the sea lions! We hope that you will come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there for one night, and found it to be a good deal. Not priced as high as hotels closer to town, but this one was close to what we liked. The trolley runs right behind the place, and stops a couple hundred yards away. For entertainment, the nearby pier and marina is loaded with sea lions, and we saw fishing guides bringing in salmon. Gas and grocery are right next door, and it's within walking distance of a couple decent places to eat.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.


Sincerely,

Kourtney Scott
Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, OR
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend from Germany and I stayed here for one night, and it was wonderful. Most people probably slept with their windows closed because the sea lions (hundreds of them) barked all night long. But we slept very good in spite of our window being wide open. The beds were great. There was plenty of very nice furniture (love seat, chair, tables, etc.) and the wall decorations were very nice. The book about the town was so helpful and we knew what to prioritize to see in our short stay. The pool was wonderful. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kourtney Scott
Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great location right on the Columbia River about a mile out of town, but easy access via the main road or the trolley or bike path that runs right behind the hotel. But it is very dated, and although recently remodeled has horrible colors (darkish brown walls) and ill-fitting furniture. The breakfast buffet is limited and on the cheap side. Not a good deal for the price by any means. If you do have to stay there make sure you get an upper floor riverside room, otherwise you are bound for a big letdown.

Room Tip: Third floor with a river view is the only good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitsy M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 4 days ago
It sounds like you were very disappointed with your stay! We strive to provide our guests with the very best experience possible, and apologize for not meeting your expectations! If you are planning a trip in the future to the Astoria area, I would like to personally handle your reservations and see if there is anythinfg we can do as a team to improve another stay with us!

Warm regards,

Kitsy Brown Mahoney
General Manager
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia River

Address: 3420 Leif Erickson Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Columbia River 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia River Hotel Astoria
Comfort Suites Astoria
Astoria Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Columbia River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.